Author Topic: FPGA Cost Model Help Please!  (Read 5700 times)

Offline fgt4wTopic starter

FPGA Cost Model Help Please!
« on: September 13, 2013, 09:12:37 pm »
Hi Everyone,

I'm quite new to FPGA development, and I was hoping you guys could help me out.  I've been given a project to take an old ASIC development/production cost model, and adapt it to estimate FPGA costs.  I've done some basic research, but I still have many questions.

1. My first main issue is how to measure "size" of a design.  The ASIC model uses number of gates.  From what I've read, active logic cells is the sizing metric used in the FPGA community, and there is no perfect formula to convert active logic cells to gates.  I don't need a "perfect" solution - i need a pretty good solution that gets me in the ballpark.  Are there some rules of thumb I could use to compare ASIC and FPGA design sizes?  I also read that the 'size' of an active logic cell can vary from vendor to vendor.  Maybe I need to find a conversion factor for each vendor?  Anything to steer me in the right direction is appreciated.

2. Generally speaking, what is the development cost difference between an FPGA project and a standard cell ASIC project of the same 'size'?   How much of this cost difference is due to a difference in scope (activities that must be performed for ASIC projects, but not for FPGAs.  example: mask set generation) and how much is due to a difference in complexity (difficulty of implementing the same thing in a normal ASIC CAD tool vs. a normal FPGA CAD tool.)

3. I would guess that anyone using a high-level cost model like this could easily get a vendor quote for FPGA purchase prices, so I wasn't going to build anything to estimate it as its already known.  Is this the right approach?

4. I've covered the purchase price, the design phase effort, downloading it to the FPGA and testing it.  Am I missing any other significant costs?

Thanks so much for any help you can offer!

Offline mrflibble