Author Topic: Affordable programmer for STM32 in January 2023  (Read 1822 times)

Offline WatthTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Affordable programmer for STM32 in January 2023
« on: January 21, 2023, 12:44:27 pm »
Hi EEV people,
I'm a hobbyist looking into designing STM32-based boards.
One of my first goal is to program a simple STM32G030J6M6 as it is cheap. This particular model supports SWD.
I'm refering to Application note AN4989 STM32 microcontroller debug toolbox.
The thing is the basic programmer STLINK V2 is unavailable where it's convenient for me (otherwise shipping cost are prohibitive). My other options are:

What are you experiences on the subject? Is it worth cashing out for a genuine STLINK V3? Are the clones worth it? What's the answer to life the universe and everything?

Thanks for reading!
edit: i miswrote nano instead of nucleo-32 (because the nucleo I have are based on a nano format...). It's not as obvious as nucleo-64 boards as to how to use them as a programmer
« Last Edit: January 21, 2023, 06:04:22 pm by Watth »
Because "Matth" was already taken.

Offline pcprogrammer

• Super Contributor
Re: Affordable programmer for STM32 in January 2023
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2023, 12:50:46 pm »

But kidding aside, yes the clone ST-link devices only do SWD, but for most projects it is enough. You can program the device and debug it.

Nowadays not as cheap as a couple of years back, but they work fine for me.

Offline Siwastaja

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2023, 01:49:43 pm »
STM32 MCUs have built-in UART bootloader. USB-"TTL" UART adapter thing costs like $2 from Ebay, and chances are high you already have one or two. If you have one, then this is free.