Author Topic: Arduino interrupts.  (Read 22297 times)

Offline PeterGTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Arduino interrupts.
« on: September 12, 2011, 09:50:03 am »
Is there a hardware interrupt for serial rx?

I know PIC chips have such an interrupt but i have not seen any ref regarding it for Arduinos.

Regards
Testing one two three...

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
Re: Arduino interrupts.
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2011, 10:33:35 am »
AVRs have 3 serial interrupts, (RX Complete, TX Complete and Data Register empty) , so the hardware does.
It would be pretty stupid if the Arduino platform didn't use them so they must be there somewhere.
I'm not sure what Arduino call them though, (sorry, i'm not an Arduino expert).

Ya can't really compare a PIC with an Arduino.
The Arduino platform is an extra layer on top of an ATmega AVR designed to simplify things and make it easier for people with little programming ability to write code. As a result some things have been hidden away.

I find people seem to be forgetting that an AVR is a great MCU by itself without any Arduino layer on top of it. :)
« Last Edit: September 12, 2011, 10:58:03 am by Psi »
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)

Offline johnboxall

• Supporter
  • You do nothing, you get nothing.
    • Books, services and more:
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2011, 10:52:27 am »

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2011, 04:53:19 am »
http://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/Interrupts

I have looked over all the Arduino docs. No mention of Serial Interrupts at all. I guess it must have to be done manually.
Anyone know of a way to set these up within Arduino?

Regards
Testing one two three...

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2011, 05:11:50 am »
I think the expectation would be to use the Arduino serial communications library rather than handling the serial comms directly.