Author Topic: Beginner Help with TI Microcontroller  (Read 5924 times)

Offline tolsen5468Topic starter

Beginner Help with TI Microcontroller
« on: March 08, 2015, 04:58:30 am »
Hey guys,
Just got my hands on a MSP430F2012 PDIP microcontroller, just the bare chip and I'm really not sure where to start with the thing. I have lots of experience with arduino based stuff (so the easy stuff) but now that I got this I really don't know where to start besides feeding it power. I guess the big question here is how do I program this thing? I assume you would need some sort of usb to serial or parallel converter/programmer and a C compiler to code but I'm at a loss here, I don't even know where to start so any help is appreciated!

Offline Stonent

• Super Contributor
Re: Beginner Help with TI Microcontroller
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2015, 05:53:05 am »
You might want to pick up a MSP430 launchpad and you can use Energia or CCS with it.

Not sure quite how to program a MSP430 directly.
The larger the government, the smaller the citizen.

Offline JoeN

• Frequent Contributor
  • We Buy Trannies By The Truckload
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2015, 09:10:06 am »
Personally I like making my own boards by hand so that I prove to myself that I know what I am doing.  Generally, I make it using one of the general designs of a development board or breakout board that the manufacturer makes or at least some competent third party but I mash it up with whatever I want on it.  I made a MSP430 board and got it to work no problem.  I used TI's actual debugger, the old version - http://www.ti.com/tool/MSP-FET430UIF.  The new version is http://www.ti.com/tool/msp-fet.  There are cheaper clones on eBay:  www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw=MSP-FET.  The IDE is free with some limitations:  http://www.ti.com/tool/CCSTUDIO-MSP430

Device:  MSP430F5638   Yes, I know it is being woefully underutilized just scrolling a message.

« Last Edit: March 08, 2015, 09:13:56 am by JoeN »
Have You Been Triggered Today?