Author Topic: CPLD or FPGA, please help  (Read 20470 times)

Offline lawrence11Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
CPLD or FPGA, please help
« on: January 24, 2018, 09:48:33 pm »
Hello, please help.

For my electronic design, I am experimenting what device will be better, FPGA or CPLD, I wish to compile and determine the amount of space this takes on a device then judge my needs. I am trying to do as per this image, I have simple task of finding right 3 byte condition in parallel data stream, coming at about 12-22 Mhz, lets say I will have about 50-100 of these 3 byte conditions. These 50-100 or so conditons will in turn, signal 20 or so different  type events ( pins). So some  event pins will work for a multitude of 3 byte conditions.

Can anybody code for me a simple example?  I am mostly self taught C programmer, please understand my difficulty.

For example: combination 144,136,88  ( 0x009000800058) activates a pin, combination 0,196,0 (0x000000C40000) activates another pin.

As per the Drawing, thank you.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 03:56:36 am by lawrence11 »

Offline Buriedcode

• Super Contributor
Re: CPLD or FPGA, please help
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2018, 10:02:19 pm »
The lines between CPLD and FPGA have been somewhat blurred over the past decade.  For the most part it sounds like what you wish to do a "CPLD" will do just fine - just requires lots of IO and some glue logic.  With that said just to store or compare 3 bytes is 24 macrocells, so something like a 64 macrocell CPLD might not cut it.   It seems its the speed of 12-22Mhz that makes using programmable logic over a microcontroller preferable.