Author Topic: Driving latching relay with attiny85  (Read 10417 times)

Offline dadlerTopic starter

• Supporter
Driving latching relay with attiny85
« on: February 01, 2015, 11:04:14 pm »
Hi all-

I am working on a circuit similar to this:

However, I am concerned about inductive transients when the (single coil latching) relay current pulse abruptly stops.

I guess an H-bridge or equivalent, or something like a ULN2003 would certainly work, but seems like overkill for this application. Trying to keep the parts count/cost minimal. I also considered back to back zeners, but I don't think this will actually protect the inputs.

I contacted the designer of the above circuit, and he claims transient protection is not necessary (didn't give a reason).  I thought maybe he was doing something clever in software, just a guess.

Here is the datasheet for the relay I am using: EA2-5SNJ (single coil latching) http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/283/ea2-1419.pdf

Any input would help--I am a beginner.
« Last Edit: February 01, 2015, 11:07:02 pm by dadler »

Offline JoeN

• Frequent Contributor
  • We Buy Trannies By The Truckload
Re: Driving latching relay with attiny85
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2015, 04:06:57 am »
So you are using pins 6 & 7 basically as an H-bridge, setting one high and the other low and reversing the polarity to drive this relay?  And it works right now? - as in there is enough current and you are not exceeding the ICs current sourcing/sinking specs?  Well, if so that's great.  The one thing is that I have never heard of anyone recommending driving any inductive load off an Atmel microcontroller or any microcontroller that isn't also a motor driver IC (Freescale does some of these) without protection.  I found this and it seems it is the industry standard protection circuit for an H-bridge.  It requires 4 diodes rather than one, but otherwise works in the same fashion.