Author Topic: EEVblog #448 - AVR Dragon can program both PIC and Atmega?  (Read 4484 times)

Offline Matter45Topic starter

EEVblog #448 - AVR Dragon can program both PIC and Atmega?
« on: February 16, 2017, 09:55:53 am »
Hi there!

Im just starting out in exploring the world of microcontrollers! YAY!

I have a project which I currently use the raspberry pi zero for, the project uses all the GPIO's. Been working on this project for 2 years, massive learning curve.

Now I want to get into Microcontrollers. The question is, which direction do i go if I want to be able to program Microchip microcontrollers AND Atmel microcontrollers?

They seem to be the market leaders....

Specifically, it seems the AVR Dragon can work with Atmel Studio 7 & MPLAB X? If this is the case, why would i buy a PicKit3? it also looks like PicKit 4 never came out....

Thanks in advance!

Offline Hideki

• Frequent Contributor
Re: EEVblog #448 - AVR Dragon can program both PIC and Atmega?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2017, 10:19:02 am »
Too bad you didn't notice it, but that episode was an april fools joke.

Microchip now owns Atmel (not a joke), but I don't know if they have managed to combine any of their development tools yet.

Offline NivagSwerdna

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 11:35:29 am »
If you are new then you should stay simple...

With AVR you can just use the Arduino eco-system, IDE, bootloader etc to get started.  Once your program is started you can ignore all the wiring gunk and go bare metal and explore the various hardware functions.  If you want lots of UARTS look at the ArdunioMEGA.

For PIC then checkout the Curiosity boards e.g. PIC24F at http://www.microchip.com/promo/curiosity, that board has a 'Pickit on board'

There are also many other devices that might be more interesting to you...  eg. https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/ which the more modern versions having some top notch DMA functionality.