Author Topic: Encrypted hex files and firmware protection on PIC  (Read 7321 times)

Offline subunitTopic starter

• Contributor
Encrypted hex files and firmware protection on PIC
« on: September 28, 2017, 05:23:29 am »
  Hi folks,
 I am a biologist working substantially outside my area of competency so please bear that in mind.

I am building a set of benchtop bioreactors to control conditions for a particular culture. Budget is tight, and typical off-the-shelf gear is inappropriate for my application, so I decided to roll my own using as much open-source, cheap hardware as possible. I went with a lower-cost manufacturer of sensors, transmitters, etc. as it looked like hobbyists were getting good results from their kit and the manufacturer appears to also be targeting the low end of industrial production (ie. people who can't afford to have Honeywell come and build them their control system).

Things looked ok with my first reactor so I recently ordered a second set of sensors and PIC-based sensor circuits from the manufacturer. Between-sensor error seemed too high even after calibrating a couple of times, and there looked like some weird temp-dependent drift in the amount of between-sensor error, so I started to look at the circuit firmware. I noted that the mfr. had recently added a command allowing the exporting/importing of a calibration string from one circuit to another, which seemed like a possible solution, but I realised that the first set of circuits had older firmware without said command.