Author Topic: Best way to implement an LCD menu!  (Read 1381 times)

Offline kgavionicsTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Best way to implement an LCD menu!
« on: June 30, 2023, 09:33:11 pm »
First, I want to let you know that I'm not a professional in embedded system, I'm only an enthusiast. I have a project where I need to navigate through 4 menus (one main menu and three sub menus). I have seen a lot of a project online using a tree data structure (which I find very intimidating, because of the extensive use of pointers). My knowledge in C is rather intermediate, and I want to find a good way to implement a simple LCD menu without getting the project too complicated! My question why the majority of the project for Menu are using Tree data structures, and what advantages that the latter has over let's say a simple switch statement?

Thanks in advance

Online mariush

• Super Contributor
Re: Best way to implement an LCD menu!
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2023, 10:12:41 pm »
It doesn't have to be pointers

If it's just a main menu and 3 sub menus, you could store everything in a string for example

[ 1 byte : number of menu entries and flags (ex  first bit is set, means this menu has submenus, 2nd bit is set this means shows "back to previous menu" option after all options, last 6 bits = number of menu entries]
[ n  x 3 ]  :  [ 1 byte : offset where the text for the menu option starts,  1 byte : length of text, 1 byte : where the submenu definition starts  ]

So for example here's the definition of a menu :

Alpha
 * X
 * Y
Beta
Gamma
 * Test

strings would be  "AlphaBetaGammaXY123567890Test"

Your bytes would be

byte 0 : 13 (3<<2 + 0 + 1)  ( 3 menu entries, don't show back to previous menu because it's root menu, all entries are submenus
byte 1,2,3:  offset = 0, length = 5, jump =11   (Alpha , go to menu definition that starts at byte 11)
byte 4,5,6:  offset = 5, length = 4, jump = 18  ( Beta, go to menu definition that starts at byte )