Electronics > Microcontrollers

EXTI trigger of DMA receive from SPI (STM32U5)

(1/2) > >>

davegravy:
I am trying to interface the LTC2512-24 precision ADC with STM32U5. The ADC uses standard unidirectional SPI and requires that communication happen within a fairly tight time window during its the conversion<->acquisition cycle. The ADC outputs a pulse on the Data Ready Line (DRL) and I need to read 24 or 32 bits from it within about 700ns after the DRL falling edge. Outside of this risks causing analog noise interference. I've tested using interrupts based on DRL and the response time is too slow.

I'm fairly new at uC programming and a number of older posts I've found complain that you can't trigger DMA xfers using GPIO inputs on STM32. The uC I'm using is newer (u5 series) and combing through the TRM I found that there's a register called SPI_AUTOCR for configuring Autonomous Mode which contains TRIGSEL[3:0] and the ability to select EXTI4 or EXTI9 (among other sources) as a trigger.

There's also GPDMA.CxTR2_TRIGSEL[5:0] for GPDMA which seems to allow EXTI sources to trigger DMA.

I'm not sure which of these I should be exploring, or if there's something better for my use case. Any words of wisdom?

SiliconWizard:

--- Quote from: davegravy on January 28, 2022, 02:25:51 pm ---I am trying to interface the LTC2512-24 precision ADC with STM32U5. The ADC uses standard unidirectional SPI and requires that communication happen within a fairly tight time window during its the conversion<->acquisition cycle. The ADC outputs a pulse on the Data Ready Line (DRL) and I need to read 24 or 32 bits from it within about 700us after the DRL falling edge. Outside of this risks causing analog noise interference. I've tested using interrupts based on DRL and the response time is too slow.

--- End quote ---

Are you sure about your numbers here?
700us is an enormous amount of time for such an MCU. How could interrupts on a STMR32U5 have a latency higher than this?

davegravy: