Author Topic: FPGAs with embedded ARM cores, who makes them?  (Read 12536 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: FPGAs with embedded ARM cores, who makes them?
« Reply #25 on: August 01, 2018, 12:48:15 am »
If there are only two, they will just say theirs is right and the other's is wrong. 

I discovered the benefit of testing simultaneously on multiple platforms during a 500,000 line port from VMS to Unix.  That code had fewer than a dozen bugs reported in the first release and it went down from there.  Because we built tests cases and ran them on multiple platforms as we wrote the code we quickly learned what things to avoid.  That code was in service for 12-16 years and completely unsupported for 4-6 years.  They only pulled the plug when it simply became obsolete.

I wish it was possible to write generic VHDL (or Verilog, I prefer and use the former daily) that would let me be vendor-agnostic. But the reality is that you can't.  And believe me, I've tried, even going so far as to use VHDL configurations and generates to swap out vendor-specific blocks. You end up with spaghetti, the kind that's been sitting in the drainer for a few hours because your wife made dinner and you were still a work, and now it's a blob of paste in the sink.

The good news is that inferring standard things like RAMs and ROMs is portable.

Things as simple as input DDR blocks aren't the same from vendor to vendor. Some families have input and output serializers, and there are all sorts of specific clocking requirements that make porting difficult. Clock resources are all over the place, some have PLLs, some have DLLs, some ahve both, some have just delay elements. Some families have input delays on all pins, some only on clock pins.