Author Topic: FreeRTOS - pre-emptive or not?  (Read 9147 times)

Offline peter-hTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Doing electronics since the 1960s...
FreeRTOS - pre-emptive or not?
« on: October 08, 2021, 03:38:31 pm »
I've been writing a lot of code for this for last 10 months. All working fine. I use the base priority (zero) for all threads, and always yield to RTOS with osDelay(1) when hanging around. It all works great.

Someone else working on another specific part of the project (replacing the buggy as hell STM-supplied PolarSSL with MbedTLS) has spent a lot of time trying to make that work also (again, buggy as hell and as usual loads of posts all over the place from frustrated coders trying to make it work - this seems to be a pattern with most STM libs and especially SSL stuff) and it appears that this code relies on some threads having a higher priority than others, otherwise the thing just hangs. Is this a weird way to write software? If one thread is generating data and another is consuming it, should they not be same priority but using some appropriate mechanism to communicate? I struggle to think of a scenario where different priorities are the only option, and there is a price to pay because the more levels you define the more RAM it uses.

I am not totally new to this. I wrote my own simple RTOS, in assembler, for Z180 and Z280, yonks ago, and it was absolutely solid and was used in loads of fair volume comms products. It facilitated easy development of complicated protocol converters. But I never implemented priority, because all critical stuff was running off interrupts, and if all the code is written properly and yields when hanging around, everything will still run. And comms products should have buffers on I/O which are interrupt driven. Of course I see that sometimes you want different priorities but often this is not needed, and could be "dangerous" because some tasks may never run at all.