Author Topic: FTDIgate 2.0?  (Read 381066 times)

Offline madires

• Super Contributor
  • A qualified hobbyist ;)
Re: FTDIgate 2.0?
« Reply #525 on: February 06, 2016, 06:26:42 pm »
Since you are such an expert in law and you seen a company committing a crime as you said. Then as an EU citizen you should report them. I don't claim to have intrinsic knowledge of EU law at all, but you do make such claims.

Not reporting a crime is as bad as committing one, right?

This is my absolute last reply in this thread:

I'm not an expert, but I have a basic understanding of German law and know my limits. Please read about "Strafanzeige" and "Strafantrag" and maybe you'll understand that your suggestion doesn't make sense. And trolling me doesn't change any facts, but if you like, keep going.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2016, 07:12:17 pm by madires »

Offline mtdoc

• Super Contributor
« Reply #526 on: February 06, 2016, 06:34:12 pm »

Um no - of course it isn't. Is that what you really believe?  If so are you taking down the license plate numbers and reporting every speeder you see on the road? How about every person you see littering? Every person you know who has illegally downloaded pirated software or media?

I have a question for those here who are voraciously defending and excusing FTDI's actions:

Why have they taken the approach of first bricking chips and then having chips send out erroneous data instead of simply making their driver not work with the clones?

In my mind that is the crux of the issue. In both cases they have deliberately chosen to take punitive action against the end user - not the clone makers but the end user - who in almost every case has no way of knowing they purchased a product with a cloned chip! 

This along with way they've handled the controversy in social media is very telling of their mindset and why so many have decided to stop using their chips in their designs and stop buying products that use their chips.

Offline madsci1016