Author Topic: Getting started with TI's Code Composer for MSP430  (Read 2863 times)

Offline TimNJTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Getting started with TI's Code Composer for MSP430
« on: December 02, 2013, 12:12:17 am »
Hi guys,

I'm a first year EE student. My college seems to be pushing Arduino, and while I see how it makes a good introduction to microcontrollers, I think they should really use something more industry accepted. Over winter break, which is coming soon, I want to do a little bit of experimenting with MSP430. I have NO experience with them at all, but I really do want to give them a try.

I've downloaded Code Composer Studio. It's based off Eclipse which I've used before, but I still don't know much about programming microcontrollers, other than what I have briefly learned with Arduino. I'm also not an Arduino expert by any means. I just want to try learning something more practical.

What's a good way to get started? Interestingly, the school engineering library has MSP430 Microcontroller Basics, which I've skimmed through. I wonder if it applies to CCS as well. They seem to reference the IAR IDE a lot. Any simple-ish tutorials out there?

Thanks.

Offline Stonent

• Super Contributor
Re: Getting started with TI's Code Composer for MSP430
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2013, 12:33:55 am »
You can use Energia to program the MSP430, it's a port of Arduino for it. It might be a good transition to CCS because you name the pins by port rather than just the pin #.

You'll need to learn how to address the pins first when moving to any different MCU platform.
The larger the government, the smaller the citizen.

Offline westfw

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2013, 04:40:29 am »
IIRC, TI had some pretty good tutorials for their launchpads.  (The one I looked at in detail was for the Stellaris Launchpad, but it looks like they have similar things for MSP430.)