Author Topic: Help with 'Flashing' STM32F1xx Series  (Read 2034 times)

Offline fmashockieTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Help with 'Flashing' STM32F1xx Series
« on: September 02, 2023, 07:06:32 pm »
Hi everyone! I'm relatively new to the blog, but have been a fan of EEVBlog YT channel for a long time! Anyway, I was hoping to get some help/info regarding flashing a STM32F1xx series microcontroller.  This micro is currently employed in an APC UPS BR1500G I am trying to fix.  I have a thread going on this repair in the 'Repair' forum (https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/repair-help-for-apc-ups-br1500g-f06-error/).  But basically, I've come to the conclusion there's a good chance that one of the GPIO pins on the original micro has gone bad.  So I would like to replace it with a new micro, but I've never flashed one before.

I did some research and it seems like there is a lot of resources for programming the STM32 micro family.  I started by reading the ST Application Note 2606 (https://www.st.com/resource/en/application_note/an2606-stm32-microcontroller-system-memory-boot-mode-stmicroelectronics.pdf).  I found out how to put the STM32F1 into bootloader function and how to interface with it.  It appears for the STM32F1, the bootloader supports USART.  So I bought a FTDI USB to UART cable (datasheet here https://ftdichip.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/DS_C232HD_UART_CABLE.pdf).  Then I was going to use the free software on ST's website called STM32CubeMX (info here https://www.st.com/en/development-tools/stm32cubemx.html) to enable the bootloader function and flash the micro.

This will be my first attempt at doing something like this.  I was hoping someone could tell me if I am on the right track?  If not, what am I missing?? Also, can I connect the micro to this adapter cable while it is still in-circuit on the original PCB? Do I have to remove it for any reason??   

I would greatly appreciate any help/info anyone has to offer.  Thanks in advance!!