Author Topic: Help with PIC / ASSEMBLY for a project from a book  (Read 2980 times)

Offline ZybyyyTopic starter

Help with PIC / ASSEMBLY for a project from a book
« on: February 19, 2019, 10:47:12 pm »
Hello everyone,

I am new to the world of PIC programming. I bought a book "PIC in Practice" by D W Smith 1st edition
While trying to recreate the task 1 there are some problems I can not sole for the past 3 days. I really want to progress and carry on being better however at this stage I do not understand enough to solve it.
Program says that the LED supposed to blink - I can not make this LED to blink, basically nothing happens. I do not know why ???
So, the language is ASSEMBLY, I use PICkit 2, and MPLAB X 5.10, I tried this on 16F84 and 16F628A, 2-3 each. I use MPLAB breadboard.

I have attached schematics for this.

Programm from the book tells me:

; Header84.ASM for 16F84.   This sets PORTA as an INPUT(NB 1
;                 means input) and PORTB as an OUTPUT
;                 (NB 0 means output). The OPTION
;            register is set to /256 to give timing pulses
;                 of 1/32 of a second.
;                 1 second and 0.5 second delays are
;                 included in the subroutine section.

;*****************************************************************************

; EQUATES SECTION

TMR0       EQU       1      ; means TMR0 is file 1
STATUS       EQU       3      ; means STATUS is file 3
PORTA       EQU       5      ; means PORTA is file 5
PORTB       EQU       6      ; means   PORTB is file 6
ZEROBIT       EQU       2      ; means ZEROBIT is bit 2
COUNT       EQU       0CH      ; means COUNT is file 0C
            ; a register to count events

LIST        P=16F84   ; we are using 16F84
    ORG           0         ; the start address in memory is 0
    GOTO       START      ; goto start

; SUBROUTINE SECTION

; 1 second delay
DELAY1       CLRF    TMR0       ; start TMR0
LOOPA       MOVF    TMR0,W       ; read TMR0 into W