Author Topic: How do you structure a large C project for embedded applications.  (Read 24675 times)

Offline diyaudioTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • !
Hi

I've been playing around with some project concepts around a PIC24 using MPLABX, I was wondering as I come from a C# background how does one structure a large C embedded project (from a variable convention, file name layout ect.., I'm really new to C, I read the hardware datasheets, read C books and prototype simultaneously.. its working out well its just very time consuming as I don't work with embedded programming for a living, however I don't see much literature around embedded C conventions, coding style..

Can anyone comment I know this is an opinionated area, so I would just like to hear what others are doing ? 

• Frequent Contributor
  • !
Re: How do you structure a large C project for embedded applications.
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2014, 04:13:42 pm »
This is a huge topic on which entire books have been written. Some key things I would suggest doing:

1. Split code into separate files. Don't be afraid to have files with one function or a few #defines in them. The more modular the better, and it makes it easier to find things in a large project. It also makes compilation faster as unchanged files don't need to be re-compiled.

2. Use a naming scheme that makes it obvious where stuff is and what scope it exists in. I use a two or three character prefix for each file, and uppercase for externally available stuff (public) and lowercase for internal stuff. For example, if I have a file called "adc.c" that has all my ADC driving code in it the function names will all start with "ADC" or "adc".

3. Come up with a consistent naming scheme. In my code I use "wake" and "sleep" in drivers. Using the ADC example I have "ADC_wake()" and "ADC_sleep()" to power the ADC on and off. Similarly I have DAC_wake() and DAC_sleep(), RF_wake() and RF_sleep() etc. in other driver files.