Author Topic: How to solder pinpoint leads to pinpoint traces?  (Read 1957 times)

Offline solderjsTopic starter

• From Soldering to JavaScript, and Beyond!
    • CoolAJ86
How to solder pinpoint leads to pinpoint traces?
« on: February 17, 2019, 07:57:22 am »
I’m trying to replace some broken ZIF sockets on my Nintendo New 3DS XL. They’re pinpoint leads with pinpoint traces (see pics).

Pics:

I’m a bit of a newbie, but I’ve been able to SMD solder training kits without a hitch thanks to various tips and tricks I’ve learned here and there (including EEVBlog on YouTube).

I’ve used a 13.5x head mount magnifier.

I’ve tried 0.4mm 63/37 solder.
I’ve tried 0.8mm 60/40 solder.
I’ve tried a paste flux.
I’ve tried pure colophony flux.
I’ve tried running the leads first (epic fail on the back leads with 0 spacing).
I’ve tried alcohol + glycerin + colophony dust.
I’ve tried a solder paste with a heat gun (plastic melted before the paste would flow).
I’ve been to scared to try my toaster oven reflow box (still working the kinks out on practice boards).
I’ve tried putting too much solder on and wicking it off (epic fail on the back).
I’ve tried a 0.4mm conical tip.
I’ve tried my screw driver tip.
I think I even tried with my bevel tip.

I’m willing to bet it’s just my technique that’s the problem, I just don’t know what to do.

I’m thinking maybe to heat the board up to 150 C in the toaster oven (with foil to protect from direct heat from the elements) and then blasting it with the heat gun right at 250 so the traces cant wick the heat away from the solder paste and cause the plastic to melt (i.e. if the heat gun is set above 275 C).

Does anyone have a suggestion or a link to something I might watch or read?
« Last Edit: March 15, 2019, 03:58:53 am by solderjs »
Learning electrical engineering the hard way.

Offline sleemanj

• Super Contributor
  • Professional tightwad.
    • The electronics hobby components I sell.
Re: How to solder pinpoint leads to pinpoint traces?