Author Topic: Is arduino the best?  (Read 35267 times)

Offline AnsonTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Is arduino the best?
« on: March 14, 2013, 01:59:12 am »
I'm new to the electronics hobby. I am trying to learn I'm not young anymore and because of medications for disability I am limited to how quickly and easily I can learn. Being disabled has also made my income and allowable expenses for the hobby very limited. My question is which is easier and more cost effective for programmers it seems everything electronics is arduino or pic based so I figure I should learn one or the other. From my readings it seems the arduino is a bit more user friendly and has a larger user base but I kinda like the abilities that the pic chip enables. I will ahve to save up for a while before I can purchase either of these anyway but more feedback on what system is easier to learn and more worth my time would be appreciated. i found this on the net and it looks very interesting any thoughts? http://www.mikroe.com/easypic/

Offline Harvs

• Super Contributor
Re: Is arduino the best?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2013, 02:15:21 am »
Learn to program one micro in C and you've pretty much learnt the core of programming them all.

If cost is you biggest concern, just pick up something cheap.  Seriously something like an Arduino for $15 from china off ebay or an MSP430 for $10 (and I'm sure there's some cheap as PIC boards as well,) is all you need to start with (and a few led + resistors etc, again off ebay as you need them.)

The number of freely available resources on the web for any of these platforms is huge.  The most important skills to be developed aren't platform centric, they're the generic ones.

Offline MikeK

• Super Contributor

Offline Mike Warren

• Supporter
    • Personal Website
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2013, 03:37:15 am »