Author Topic: Is AVR Studio good other than being Windows only?  (Read 16706 times)

Offline FenderBenderTopic starter

• Super Contributor
    • The Solid State Workshop
Is AVR Studio good other than being Windows only?
« on: August 26, 2012, 03:36:08 am »
I'm an Arduino boy who wishes he could play in the big leagues. I've downloaded AVR Studio. I'm used to the Visual Studio look and I like it. People don't seem to like it because it's not cross-platform, which is understandable. But with the majority of professional workstations being Windows these days, I could see where they were coming from.

I've been cycling through various microcontrollers and platforms. While I'm comfortable in Arduino, I kind of want to branch out. I briefly considered MSP430. Good micro, but I feel like it would be a big leap for me. I'm still a novice. PIC was on my radar but I think AVR is more powerful in the long run. So I've tentatively decided on getting a AVR Dragon and maybe a cute little development board for it. I don't know.

But people see not to like the AVR Studio environment. Is there something I'm missing? Seems okay to me.

Thanks.

Offline AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
Re: Is AVR Studio good other than being Windows only?
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2012, 08:12:14 am »
If you do like a tool that others don't get on with, that's OK. If you were doing it for a living, it could even be called a competitive advantage!

I tend to use PIC for several reasons, but primarily because the Microchip product selector is excellent:

http://www.microchip.com/productselector/MCUProductSelector.html