Author Topic: Is AVR Studio good other than being Windows only?  (Read 16702 times)

Offline phil_jp1

• Regular Contributor
Re: Is AVR Studio good other than being Windows only?
« Reply #25 on: August 29, 2012, 10:40:56 am »
Yeah the learning curve on modern IDEs is pretty steep in my opinion. Maybe if I was a professional and I had to learn PIC or AVR, I would do it, but since I'm a hobbyist, just getting myself to sit down and learn the little quirks and peevs of MPLAB or AVR Studio isn't worth my time.

You don't need too much time to learn all this. It is not so complicated as it seems.
It is worth to learn a single IDE and single architecture, to be able then to hop to any other platform or modern IDE in no time. It's like you learn how to drive a single car model, and then can easily adapt to any other car.

If you worked with arduino before, why not learn the same hardware? Take Atmel Studio, some AVR microcontrollers, and nail down this .... .
AVR micros is as good as any other micros out there for your purposes.
Many people have said it before - it doesn't matter which architecture you start from. The workflow is pretty much the same everywhere.
- Create project in an IDE
- Setup MCU peripherals
- Write your code
- Debug your program

All modern IDEs are all pretty much the same - only some minor things change. Learn how to use a single IDE - and you'll be able to use them all.
Learn how to use a single architecture - and you can adapt to any other in no time.

And it's better to work your way up starting from 8-bit micros. IMHO starting to work with ARM cores would be too much to wrap your head around. And also with ARM you'll be limited to small pitch packages and 3.3 and lower voltage systems. ARM-based micros are great, but if you try to start from there - it would be like trying to learn calculus, before you even know a basic algebra.

man, hate to setup the NVIC in ARMs

I see I'm not the only one  :)
Too much flexibility sometimes is a bad thing.