Author Topic: Lattice Radiant for iCE40UP FPGA series  (Read 13730 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Lattice Radiant for iCE40UP FPGA series
« Reply #25 on: December 21, 2018, 04:44:54 am »
yes but on comment 3, you discuss ice40 ultra plus 5k breakout board where FTDI is already soldered. i have my own PCB and am trying to JTAG it by  HW-USBN-2B programmer. i did followed  HW-USBN-2 pinout manual, and connected soft jtag pins according to it. but when i try to analyze it by reveal analyzer it gives error: "incorrect pattern readout" . error log file shows readout:

#pattern readout = ffff
#pattern expected = A5A5

Is the FPGA programmed with a design that includes the Reveal debug logic?

Offline ilik

• Contributor
« Reply #26 on: December 21, 2018, 05:46:21 am »
yes, by a .bin progrmming file that gets generated in the impl_1 folder where the design resides; and  i can see it in a netlist viewer (both soft jtag and reveal are observable).there is huge lcell use in the floorplan editor; timing analysis passes without violations.

if it really is a synthesis problem then compiling the project by LSE and Synplify should have given different results. but both end up the same way so i doubt that it is syntheis related.

i also tried example project that came with Radiant. a counter with reveal already set up in it. project compiles, programs, the LED blinks, Reveal analyzer gives same "incorrect pattern readout" error.
changing soft jtag input pin's pull-up internal resistors from 100k ohm to 10k ohm gave zero results (tried it just in case).

does it matter if the programming file is a binary (.bin) or a raw bit file (.rbf)? both should be ok with reveal analyzer no?
since the pcb was developed by me, i must assume that it is an electrical or pin connection problem that sneaked out somewhere on the design stage :(((