Author Topic: looking for development board for music/audio projects  (Read 8312 times)

Offline fabgarTopic starter

• Contributor
looking for development board for music/audio projects
« on: February 06, 2019, 02:10:26 pm »
Hi, I'm a self-taught dev/programmer (back-end/app/VST, c, c++, audio and basic electronica) and I want to get into embedded. The way it works best for me is to do a type of project I'm familiar with and just learn the rest along the way. 

So I'm looking for a development board. I've been doing research for months now but the options are just to overwhelming. So I want to ask this community if you could help me find something, point me in the right direction.

I'll try to describe the kind of project and (technical) preferences as best as I can;

I want to use the board to prototype different kinds of musical devices, like a simple synth, audio player, etc .. try out some concepts to learn. I'm not going to focus on heavy synthesis or audio processing so I won't need a powerful DSP option. If it's there, great but .. What I want to focus on is project integration. Communicate with external devices like a DAC, attaching a touch screen, learn about SPI, multiplex input/output. And create a simple GUI.

1) I prefer ARM based, from my research I found Cortex M7 or M4 most interesting.
2) Bare-metal MCU. Thought long about this and picked bare-metal over a Linux (not an expert) based solution, since I prefer to spend my precious time learning about pure embedded coding, like writing a simple OS, scheduler, etc .. than figuring out Linux and all it's quirks. I could be wrong, suggestions are welcome.
3) Not Arduino or Raspberry Pi, I own these boards, they are great but they are not what I'm looking for. I want something I can access on a lower level and is closer to industry standard so what I learn can be directly implemented in a real product.
4) plenty of GPIO, SPI (need this), a way to connect a touch screen.