Author Topic: Machine Learning Algorithms  (Read 25187 times)

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: Machine Learning Algorithms
« Reply #100 on: November 22, 2021, 09:22:19 pm »
Absolutely.
In the AF447 case, the PIC was asleep when things started to get problematic, but there was a copilot in his seat. Funnily enough, in this particular case, would the copilot have been asleep instead, the crash would probably never have happened. But that's just one particular case!

IMHO, #1 root cause in that one as well is still lack of basic skills and training of those basic skills. It's again the classic "oh, we are falling from the sky, I have no idea what to do, maybe pull the nose up so we go higher?!?"

As a pilot myself I agree completely. I find it absolutely incredible that an international airline pilot can be so lacking in basic flying skills. Have they turned completely into button pushers?

There is that tendency, allegedly.

I think training in a standard small aircraft may be inadequate. In general they do very little stall training and these days often no spin training at all. When they actually do stall training, they are trained to initiate recovery in response to the stall warning horn sounding -- which generally happens around 5 knots faster than the actual stall, when the aircraft is actually still flying normally.

Before I went solo in a glider, I had to do a complete flight with the instruments covered up. Why? Because they all lie to you, and you have to recognise it happening.

Deliberately entering a spin at 1000ft or to lose altitude fast is entertaining - and anathema to powered pilots