Author Topic: microchip or atmel ARM's  (Read 21563 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kjelt

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5765
  • Country: nl
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #75 on: May 19, 2017, 01:21:03 pm »
On the bottom of the page there should always be some matrix with blue download button, i am on an ipad now will check in fifteen minutes for you, could ofcourse be that just for that specific micro something broke.
Do you have a link where you are exactly looking at the site?
 

Offline Kjelt

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5765
  • Country: nl
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #76 on: May 19, 2017, 01:40:00 pm »
So CubeMx enter "CubeMX" in search field and one of the first hits is
https://my.st.com/content/my_st_com/en/products/development-tools/software-development-tools/stm32-software-development-tools/stm32-configurators-and-code-generators/stm32cubemx.html

There you can on the bottom see the blue button get software. Click and download.
 

Offline Kjelt

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5765
  • Country: nl
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #77 on: May 19, 2017, 01:47:22 pm »
Next step get the firmware and drivers.
Type in the search field STM32CubeL0 for the L0 series or  STM32CubeF0 wait and the first hit is the homepage of the drivers.
There again on the bottom you can download the driverpackage.

Last step is the SW4STM from AC6 or better the free Keil compiler for the L0/F0
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 14257
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #78 on: May 19, 2017, 02:42:12 pm »
can't even log into the dumb website, just sits there wirling, will report back later... possibly much later :)
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 14257
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #79 on: May 19, 2017, 02:45:53 pm »
so what is the difference between L0 and F0 ? I assume they are both based on the M0+ core ?
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline Kjelt

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5765
  • Country: nl
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #80 on: May 19, 2017, 02:52:53 pm »
The L series is low power, think orders like 2-3mA to run the darn thing and 200nA to keep it sleeping.
The counterside is the performance, the L series use lower frequencies thus have less DMIPS.
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 14257
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #81 on: May 19, 2017, 02:57:35 pm »
I see I thought that might be the case. I am doing automotive so don't need to run things off static ;)
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 14257
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #82 on: May 19, 2017, 04:24:34 pm »
wow, if I read the table right none of the F0 parts have any EEPROM that
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline ez24

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3092
  • Country: us
  • L.D.A.
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #83 on: May 19, 2017, 04:32:57 pm »
Watching
YouTube and Website Electronic Resources ------>  https://www.eevblog.com/forum/other-blog-specific/a/msg1341166/#msg1341166
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 14257
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline JPortici

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2571
  • Country: it
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #85 on: May 19, 2017, 05:27:52 pm »
wow, if I read the table right none of the F0 parts have any EEPROM that

neither do dspic, that doesn't stop me from using them extensively. if i need an eeprom a use an external one. if the processor stopping during internal flash erasing/writing doesn't affect me (or if i'm using mcus with multiple partitions so i can use the inactive as eeprom) i have eeprom emulating routines
 

Offline thm_w

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1818
  • Country: ca
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #86 on: May 19, 2017, 08:54:11 pm »
wow, if I read the table right none of the F0 parts have any EEPROM that

You either use flash to emulate eeprom, or if your design has a RTC then you can use the low power sram or rtc registers (not sure if all chips have this).
Or put an external eeprom.

Its typical of newer micros.
 
The following users thanked this post: JPortici

Offline Kjelt

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5765
  • Country: nl
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #87 on: May 19, 2017, 09:42:51 pm »
If you want to store nv Data once in a while permanently you can use the internal flash but remember erasing erases an entire bank.
If you have to write nv data often use an external fram.
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18585
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #88 on: May 20, 2017, 12:54:01 pm »
wow, if I read the table right none of the F0 parts have any EEPROM that
neither do dspic, that doesn't stop me from using them extensively. if i need an eeprom a use an external one. if the processor stopping during internal flash erasing/writing doesn't affect me (or if i'm using mcus with multiple partitions so i can use the inactive as eeprom) i have eeprom emulating routines
That will wear out the FLASH pretty quick. When I have to resort to solutions like that I make sure there are final checks so the right flash banks are written/erased, have checksums on the content, verify after write (and go to the next sector on fail) and use multiple sectors so if a sector goes bad there are (hopefully) other sectors which still work.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline JPortici

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2571
  • Country: it
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #89 on: May 20, 2017, 02:23:28 pm »
wow, if I read the table right none of the F0 parts have any EEPROM that
neither do dspic, that doesn't stop me from using them extensively. if i need an eeprom a use an external one. if the processor stopping during internal flash erasing/writing doesn't affect me (or if i'm using mcus with multiple partitions so i can use the inactive as eeprom) i have eeprom emulating routines
That will wear out the FLASH pretty quick. When I have to resort to solutions like that I make sure there are final checks so the right flash banks are written/erased, have checksums on the content, verify after write (and go to the next sector on fail) and use multiple sectors so if a sector goes bad there are (hopefully) other sectors which still work.
i wrote eeprom emulation, those routines takes care of cells wear-out, just as you said.
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 14257
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #90 on: May 20, 2017, 02:25:27 pm »
It's not something I need right now, it's just odd that something this powerful does not have this despite poxy 8 bit MCU's having it.
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline ebclr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1997
  • Country: 00
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #91 on: May 20, 2017, 03:24:00 pm »
 

Offline Vasi

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: ro
    • Visual Pin Configurator for Nucleo L152RE - produces SPL code.
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #92 on: May 20, 2017, 04:16:24 pm »
Simon, this may be perfect for you
https://community.st.com/community/stm32-community/blog/2017/02/02/stm32-cores-enabled-in-arduino-ide

Look at one of the supported Nucleo boards. Mine is not supported but I don't need Wiring language, HAL libraries are fat enough.
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 14257
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #93 on: May 20, 2017, 06:04:16 pm »
Simon, this may be perfect for you
https://community.st.com/community/stm32-community/blog/2017/02/02/stm32-cores-enabled-in-arduino-ide

Look at one of the supported Nucleo boards. Mine is not supported but I don't need Wiring language, HAL libraries are fat enough.

Indeed, it sidesteps the difficulty of using teensy for production and allows me to slide over to native ST software for more complicated projects.
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 14257
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #94 on: May 20, 2017, 06:48:44 pm »
Looks like they got cute at arduino and did something more meaningful than the perhaps overpowered Due: https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardZero runs on a D21, I have not looked in detail at the D21 range but it is impressive that ST have CAN on an M0+ core based uC
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline Gibson486

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 258
  • Country: us
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #95 on: May 22, 2017, 05:39:41 pm »
FYI...most ARM cortex series do not have EEPROM. At least not that ones I have used.
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 14257
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #96 on: May 22, 2017, 06:32:54 pm »
I see, I suppose because they are more powerful uC's the assumption is that you would use external EEPROM
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline Kjelt

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5765
  • Country: nl
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #97 on: May 22, 2017, 09:13:51 pm »
Perhaps since they have multiple spi and i2c interfaces onboard you can spare one easily and you can pick the size you want, but my guess is that it is also a  process thing.
They rather spent the surface to more RAM and Flash since those need to be on chip to be as fast accessible as possible while eeprom is already slow. One thing I do know, the die is the same in a subfamily if it has 64kB or 320kB RAM, same die they just OTP fuse out access to the extra RAM , ROM.
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18585
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #98 on: May 22, 2017, 10:23:04 pm »
Newer ARM devices from NXP tend to have EEPROM nowadays with pretty good retention time and endurance (100 years and 1million cycles IIRC). One of the advantages of internal EEPROM is that it is slightly harder to hack or do a man in the middle attack.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline westfw

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3125
  • Country: us
Re: microchip or atmel ARM's
« Reply #99 on: May 23, 2017, 02:14:24 am »
Quote
I suppose because they are more powerful uC's the assumption is that you would use external EEPROM
\
I've been suspecting that the semiconductor processes used for ARM chips (finer lithography, etc) just isn't very compatible with creating EEPROM cells.  Yes?  No?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf