Author Topic: SAM C20/C21Pin to PORT mapping  (Read 2672 times)

Offline NivagSwerdnaTopic starter

• Super Contributor
SAM C20/C21Pin to PORT mapping
« on: October 02, 2020, 05:43:16 pm »
I'm new to SAM chips... anyway...

If I say have 16 lines on an external address bus and for the sake of routing these lines end up jumbled across the actual uP pins...

Now perhaps A15 goes to PA01, A14 to PA03, .... A2 to PA06, A1 to PA02, A0 to PA21 etc

I can perform a 32bit read against IN for Port Group 0 which should have all the bits I need but not in the right order and also 16 spare bits

Is there an efficient way to move the bits around?  or will it require at least 16 operations to pull each bit out of the 32bit value and stick them back together again?

Worst case, I might need some lines on different port groups... eg A7 is actually on PB04...

Again is there a clever way of mapping this?

or... do I really need to constrain my routing to at least get a few bits together?

Using PA00...PA15 doesn't seem practical since some pins are multiplexed to functions I need above and beyond GPIO.

Am I missing something?

PS
ATSAMC21J18

PPS
I don't have enough CPU cycles to afford to do this 1 bit at a time
« Last Edit: October 02, 2020, 05:48:32 pm by NivagSwerdna »

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: SAM C20/C21Pin to PORT mapping
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2020, 06:30:46 pm »
There is no automatic mapping that will do all the work. But you may not need to extract them bit by bit, it is possible to make more optimized code if you have at least some of the pins in the right order.

Also, table lookup may be possible to. It will consume some RAM or flash, but will require way fewer cycles.

Can you give a complete mapping?
« Last Edit: October 02, 2020, 06:34:19 pm by ataradov »
Alex

Offline ajb

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2020, 06:38:23 pm »