Author Topic: Multiple LVDS channels acquisition with PIC32 from CMOS sensor  (Read 1865 times)

Offline s1m0n3tTopic starter

Hi, I'm trying to acquire data from a CMOS image sensor (NOIP1SN1300A) with a 32bit microcontroller (PIC32MZ2048EFM100).

I'm studying the datasheet of this sensor and for this version (P1-SN/FN) there are 3 options for output data stream: 1, 2 or 4 LVDS channels in multiplexing, in addition to sync and clock channels (page 39 of datasheet).

The output data rate is 720Mbps for 10bit acquisition and 576Mbps for 8bit (page 35).
If I undestand correctly, with 4 channels multiplexing option and 8bit image depth, each LVDS channel will have an output datarate of 576/4=144Mbps.
I'm trying to understand if I can handle this stream with a PIC32 (with a maximum clock of 252MHz).

I think that I don't have any possibility to read 6 144Mbps serial channels at the same time with a "simple" PIC32 with 252MHz clock. Probably the best way to manage this CMOS sensor is an FPGA, but if it's possible, I would prefer to avoid it. In fact, I don't need a high framerate: also a single frame per second can be sufficient. I should be able to understand if I can configure the sensor to stream all the data in a single LVDS channel (plus sync and clock) with a low data rate, manageable also by the PIC. I checked all the configuration bytes of the sensor (configurable by SPI input), but I don't found any configuration output data rate.

The CMOS sensor accepts a clock signal as input, with 2 options:
1) LVDS input clock with 360MHz frequency for 10bit mode or 288MHz for 8bit mode
2) TTL input clock with 72MHz (with internal PLL that multiply the frequency by 4 or 5)
On page 11 a “typical input clock frequency” is indicated, but is not clear if is possible to supply a lower clock, with a proportional reduction of output data rate.