Author Topic: No ethernet PHY connectivity with ESP-32-WROOM  (Read 16156 times)

Offline padagraTopic starter

• Contributor
No ethernet PHY connectivity with ESP-32-WROOM
« on: October 03, 2019, 12:32:53 am »
Hello all, so I’m pretty new to this hopefully this kind of post is alright. I’ve been racking my brain trying to figure out what I’m doing wrong, maybe one of you will see something I’m missing.

So I designed a board based off the Olimex ESP-32-POE for easy sensors in home automation. The Olimex board starts to add up cost with a lot of individual units, I found it was cheaper for me to design the version I need stripped down from their design. I’m going to apologize in advance for my schematics, like I said I’m new and still learning please go easy on me. This is the first PCB design I’ve done, it was supposed to be straight forward since I have an open source design I could copy directly from.

Currently I have working:
- POE 5v regulator
- 5v to 3.3v regulator
- Programming Header
- IO Breakout
- Addressable LEDs

The only part that is not working is the ethernet PHY chip. I’m using the same exact code provided from Olimex using the same components. I’m thinking it must have something to do with my PCB design, I can’t see any differences in the schematics.

This last board I received was drawing 1.43amps when I had the ethernet transistor enabled by the Esp-32 microcontroller. Turns out I had a ground via shorting out a trace which was found using a thermal camera. Once I broke the trace on the circuit board, the short went away but I still cannot get ethernet connectivity as expected.

Troubleshooting notes:
- I also have an Olimex board in hand and have been running my code against it as a baseline, everything works fine on the Olimex board.
- I have checked to make sure the select lines through the resistor networks are selecting the appropriate PHY mode on the chip (2.2k ohm resistors)