Author Topic: Olimex USB Tiny H JTAG Debugger  (Read 3918 times)

Offline tluTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Olimex USB Tiny H JTAG Debugger
« on: August 27, 2013, 12:27:30 am »
Has anyone on here have any experience with the Olimex USB Tiny H JTAG Debugger? It's advertised to be able to do ARM, AVR, MSP430 and PIC architecture. I'm fairly new to the jtagging scene and would like to know if this is the jtag device I should purchase for both ARM and PIC uC? Any comments would help out alot.

Offline TheDirty

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Olimex USB Tiny H JTAG Debugger
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2013, 09:32:53 pm »
I have the old USB Tiny and it works fine for JTAG, but it does not support SWD without an adapter.  The adapter is only supported by Crossworks and OpenOCD and it's slow.  SWD is used by the smaller Cortex chips and some don't even have the option for full JTAG.

I would get a J-Link EDU or Clone.
Mark Higgins

alm

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2013, 09:45:42 pm »
I agree, I wouldn't buy a JTAG programmer for ARM these days without SWD support. Not sure about PIC support. Note that only the larger PICs (eg. some PIC24 parts) will support JTAG. Not sure if Microchip also implemented a low pin count version of JTAG.

Offline tluTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2013, 11:41:37 pm »
To alm and TheDirty, I thank both of you for your inputs and recommendation on this. I was hoping the newer tiny H model would have SWD support. I will look into this more prior to purchasing. Would the J-Link EDU or clone work with Eclipse and OpenOCD?

Offline Jon Chandler

• Frequent Contributor
    • Throw Away PIC
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2013, 11:59:45 pm »
I had a very bad experience with Olimex.  I bought a USB programmer for PICs which worked ok until it was time to update the firmware.  When I tried to do this, I got an error saying something like "maximum upgrade times exceeded."