Author Topic: PIC programming voltage by Arduino with shield  (Read 3345 times)

Offline blesbokTopic starter

PIC programming voltage by Arduino with shield
« on: May 25, 2013, 07:13:58 pm »
Hello community

This is my first attempt at burning a PIC; a PIC16F628. Attached is an Arduino shield and the PIC is connected as shown.

The yellow program LED blinks once and a voltage of 10.04V appears at pin 4. The analogue output from Arduino pulses the BC548’s base through a 4.7K resistor. The collector is connected directly to the PIC's pin 4 /MCLR and the collector current flows through a 10K resistor. The voltage in is 13.97V; that from a 7AH 12V battery in series with a large Eveready Power Plus Gold 1.5V cell.

Is that 10V pulse enough, i.e. adequate programming voltage? (That's the reading I get on a digital meter) If not, should I reduce that 10K resistance value, or up the voltage in but adding another cell, i.e. 15.5V?

Offline c4757p

• Super Contributor
  • adieu
Re: PIC programming voltage by Arduino with shield
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2013, 07:26:10 pm »
No, it's not enough. (Read the datasheet, it's in there...) But how exactly are you measuring it? I don't see why it would only reach 10V unless there's something wrong with that transistor. Even if there was a whopping 10 nF of capacitance on that node, the 10k resistor would still charge it in under a millisecond...
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2013, 07:59:18 pm »
Thanks for the speedy reply. Means of measurement? A Fluke 85 III true RMS multimeter on DC voltage, free ranging. With black lead on Ground and red lead on Pin 4 of the PIC, 10.04V appears for a moment as the ENTER key is pressed, with command

ardpicprog --device pic16f628a -p /dev/ttyACM0 -output-hexfile output.txt

The software responds something like no PIC present or no programming voltage present.