Author Topic: pin change interrupt on attiny85  (Read 2084 times)

Offline eugeneTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
pin change interrupt on attiny85
« on: February 11, 2022, 04:46:07 pm »
I do not have as much experience as some of you, but at the same time I am far from a beginner. This problem has me completely baffled and I need some help.

I'm trying to generate a simple pin change interrupt on an attiny85. Specifically, the pin that should detect the interrupt is acting as a SPI slave select, thus it is normally high and should trigger an interrupt when the pin goes low. But, it is just not detecting either edge. I whittled the code down to the bare essentials:

Code: [Select]
// pin change interrupt handler
ISR (PCINT0_vect)
{
PORTB ^= (1<<PB4); // toggle IC pin 3
}

int main(void)
{
// configure ic pin 3 as output
DDRB = (1<<DDB4);

// configure interrupts
GIMSK = (1<<PCIE); // enable pin change interrupts
PCMSK = (1<<PCINT3); // IC pin 2 to trigger interrupt
sei(); // turn on global interrupts

while(1);

return 0;
}

Normally, I would assume that there is a silly but difficult to see typing error. I've spent hours looking for it (doesn't mean it's not there.) But the weird thing is that when I invert the polarity of the signal, things behave as expected; an interrupt is triggered on both rising and falling edges.

The yellow trace is the pin with the interrupt attached (PB3) and the magenta trace is PB4 which should get toggled on each edge of PB3.

1410289-0
1410295-1

I also do not understand why the toggled output has such slow response on the falling edge. Perhaps related?
90% of quoted statistics are fictional

Offline Carel

• Regular Contributor
Re: pin change interrupt on attiny85
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2022, 05:02:39 pm »
What I miss is that one writes to PortB, one reads from PinB.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2022, 05:23:50 pm by Carel »

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2022, 05:43:33 pm »