Author Topic: Powering an STM32F103C8T6 With 12 Volts?  (Read 1071 times)

Offline AlwaysAbiaTopic starter

Powering an STM32F103C8T6 With 12 Volts?
« on: May 01, 2024, 01:56:52 pm »
Microcontroller beginner here.

I'm building a project where the main power supply is a 12 Volt Power Supply. The project contains an stm32 in it, so I was wondering if there was a way to power the MCU directly using 12Volts without having to use a step down converter.

Thanks in advance.

Offline tszaboo

• Super Contributor
  • Current job: ATEX product design
Re: Powering an STM32F103C8T6 With 12 Volts?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2024, 02:05:43 pm »
It's not possible.

Offline tooki

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2024, 02:08:02 pm »
And don’t forget that any input signals to your MCU also need to be level shifted down to 3.3V.

Offline wraper

• Supporter
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2024, 02:18:59 pm »
It does not necessarily need to be step down converter, it can be a linear voltage regulator IC (less efficient but OK for low current) but voltage must be brought down.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2024, 06:39:52 pm by wraper »

Online DavidAlfa

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2024, 02:41:18 pm »
The project contains an stm32 in it, so I was wondering if there was a way to power the MCU directly using 12Volts
Thanks in advance.
If you're struggling with a such simple task, all I can say is good luck, everything else is going to be way more complex!
Don't tell me more, it's Arduino and made of copy & paste in 95%...  ::)
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate

The following users thanked this post: Dazed_N_Confused

Online hans

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2024, 05:11:53 pm »
No, for STM32F103, it's not possible.

To draw some unusual inspiration, there are some "HV" PIC12/PIC16s out there:
https://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/30010029B.pdf