Author Topic: Pressure sensor recommendation  (Read 977 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Pressure sensor recommendation
« on: October 21, 2019, 08:14:16 am »
Hi,
One of my customers has a new project, he asked me to find a Pressure sensor with these specs,
It should be able to measure 600BAR and should be able to withstand at least 125C working environment, also it should have an accuracy of about +-0.05% FS psi

Searching digikey, I was confused, since I never used a Pressure sensor before, I prefer SMD and Digital output, do we have something? also I can cope with other type too like the analog output versions.
ASiDesigner :)
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline voltsandjolts

• Supporter
Re: Pressure sensor recommendation
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2019, 08:45:08 am »
600bar - forget about SMD!
+-0.05% FS psi is quite demanding for that temperature & pressure range.
You are probably aware of Quartzdyne who market calibrated sensors for your application, +-0.02% FS and ~5-20KUSD.
They will likely be unavailable to you at the moment, assuming your country flag is set correctly.
There are very few other (none?) viable resonating pressure sensors openly available for your temperature range.
So, pick a strain gauge, do your own calibration (you have a dead-weight pressure generator, right?) and you may get to +-0.05% FS.
Kulite, Kistler, Keller, Paine, Sensonetics....again, availability in your country may be an issue with some of those.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2019, 09:05:43 am by voltsandjolts »

Offline beanflying

• Super Contributor
  • Toys so very many Toys.
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2019, 08:58:19 am »
You are into really into Hydraulic territory at 600Bar. Are you dealing with fluid or gas and which one and if your client hasn't specified then get some details before you go forward?