Author Topic: Ultra low cost Linux Based Board  (Read 2242 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Ultra low cost Linux Based Board
« on: October 20, 2019, 09:44:45 am »
Hi,
I'm looking for an ultra low cost Linux board with integrated WiFi, it should have enough power to capture some HD video from a camera  and compress it with something like H.264 encoder and send it over WIFI. Do we have something in the price range of under 8-10USD? any suggestions would be highly appreciated. if there is no board with these specs, I need a low cost SOC with total BOM cost of around 5USD in the 1K QTY, so I can build a custom board for it.

ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: Ultra low cost Linux Based Board
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2019, 09:55:10 am »
"Raspberry Pi Zero W" is on the higher end of that price range, but seems to do what you need to do.
Alex

Offline jhpadjustable

• Frequent Contributor
  • Salt 'n' pepper beard
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2019, 07:59:57 pm »
Shenzhen Xunlong Software Co. offers the Orange Pi range of Allwinner-based SBCs, containing dual-core tablet or set-top-box SoCs with various connectors and RAM sizes. There are Armbian images for them using mainline Linux kernels, which are less clunky than Xunlong's distributions but may not support quite all the hardware yet. Be sure to check the Wi-Fi chipset. Some earlier boards had a complete crap Wi-Fi chip (XR819) based on a crap core licensed from ST. Their Aliexpress store.
"There are more things in heaven and earth, Arduino, than are dreamt of in your philosophy."

Offline jwrodgers

• Supporter
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2019, 08:03:06 pm »
I don't think you can get the Rasp Pi Zero W in any sort of quantity when I last checked.

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2019, 08:04:10 pm »