Author Topic: Raspberry Pi Pico  (Read 75777 times)

Online DavidAlfa

• Super Contributor
Re: Raspberry Pi Pico
« Reply #300 on: March 15, 2021, 06:24:58 pm »
I've looking at it since it came out... The dual core really caught my attention.
It's amazing how fast MCUs are getting, multicore, even GHz clocks.

How good are the documentation and libraries vs stm32?
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate

Offline exe

• Supporter
  • self-educated hobbyist
« Reply #301 on: March 15, 2021, 07:38:49 pm »
I've been wondering about the PIO for a while.
Can it be used for old-school parallel bus? Like 16 bit address 8 bit data? Or the 16 bit address + data multiplexed?

I'm no expert, but if you explain in more details may be I can help. PIO can pull/push in one go up to 32 pins.

Offline tszabooTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Current job: ATEX product design
« Reply #302 on: March 15, 2021, 08:31:27 pm »
Can it be used for old-school parallel bus? Like 16 bit address 8 bit data? Or the 16 bit address + data multiplexed?

I'm no expert, but if you explain in more details may be I can help. PIO can pull/push in one go up to 32 pins.
Well, I know that you can write more than 1 GPIO pin at the time. Imagine the bus of a 6502. 16 bit address 8 bit data. R/W. PHI2 , which is a clock input for the bus. Maybe it should be an output for our theoretical system. DBE for external drivers.
All this is possible to do with a 100MHz microcontroller, for a 1MHz speed bus. I'm just wondering if it is possible to move it "one level down" and do it with the PIO, freeing up resources.

Offline thm_w

• Super Contributor
  • Non-expert
« Reply #303 on: March 15, 2021, 10:11:50 pm »
Saw a recent blog on measuring ADC performance of Pico: https://pico-adc.markomo.me/
Very well documented, DG4000 was used.
Profile -> Modify profile -> Look and Layout ->  Don't show users' signatures