Author Topic: What µC are you preffering  (Read 30840 times)

Offline MarkR42

• Regular Contributor
Re: What µC are you preffering
« Reply #50 on: March 10, 2020, 10:13:55 pm »
I buy little PCBs to break everything out to 2.54 spacing to go on a breadboard or protoboard *anyway* so tiny packages are utterly wasted on me.

Yeah, absolutely, for evaluating devices break them out to breadboard-compatible packages.

Also, Oshpark's PCB service is so cheap for very small boards, you can just layout your own breakout boards (add a few smd passives if you like) for a similar price to buying off-the-shelf breaksouts.

I am a hobbyist, 2 years ago I'd never soldered a smd, but now I'm doing 0.5mm QFN with no real problem.

Except hot air guns, don't use a hot air gun on a part you want to use (it's ok to use it to remove a dead part) because I've killed a part or two with hot air.

I also decided that no-leads packages are actually easier to handle than small-leaded packages. The tiny pins can get bent or snapped easily. This is not an issue with QFNs, DFNs.

Offline NorthGuy

• Super Contributor
« Reply #51 on: March 10, 2020, 11:30:50 pm »
I buy little PCBs to break everything out to 2.54 spacing to go on a breadboard or protoboard *anyway* so tiny packages are utterly wasted on me.

I do this too. I have dozens of these. This is very handly. However, I'm gradually moving more towards "everything on the PCB" approach as PCBs are now so easy to get (and hopefully this continues).

Except hot air guns, don't use a hot air gun on a part you want to use (it's ok to use it to remove a dead part) because I've killed a part or two with hot air.

The air temperature must've been too high.

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #52 on: March 11, 2020, 07:55:24 pm »