Author Topic: MSP430G2333 PWM generation capability  (Read 868 times)

Offline VK3DRBTopic starter

• Super Contributor
MSP430G2333 PWM generation capability
« on: October 08, 2021, 01:49:23 am »
Hi.

I am fairly new to MSP430's but have I have programmed a state machine and a whole lot of functions into this chip so far without any problems so far.

I am using Timer0 to generate a 1ms timer tick through an interrupt, which is used for a whole lot of timing events in the main() - no issues and it works nicely.

The only thing in this project now is to generate two PWM's - one to port P2.0 and the other to port P2.1. They can both have a have a period of 1ms. The CPU clock is 1MHz.

I just need to vary the duty cycles on each of these outputs independently. Reading the datasheet, I think this is possible.

How can I generate the two PWM outputs without messing up Timer0? Can I use the second timer to generate the two independent PWM duty cycles? If so, how should the registers be set up? Any suggestions much appreciated!

Offline oPossum

• Super Contributor
  • Very dangerous - may attack at any time
Re: MSP430G2333 PWM generation capability
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2021, 07:04:16 am »
You can use Timer1 for the PWM. Just set CCR0 to the PWM period, CCR1 to the duty cycle of the first PWM, and CCR2 to the duty cycle of the second PWM. Set timer mode to up, and the output modes to set or reset.

The first PWM can be output on P2.1, P2.2 or P3.2. The second PWM can be output on P2.4, P2.5 or P3.3.

If you must have PWM on P2.0 then this method can be used to get PWM from CCR0 in addition to CCR1 and CCR2. The pins for CCR0 are P2.0 and P2.3.
https://forum.43oh.com/topic/5619-pwm-using-timer-output-toggle-mode/

Offline VK3DRBTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Re: MSP430G2333 PWM generation capability
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2021, 03:05:47 am »
Thanks, oPossum.