Author Topic: Signal speed analysis  (Read 2099 times)

Offline NickWolfeTopic starter

• Contributor
Signal speed analysis
« on: April 02, 2019, 01:54:28 pm »
Hi guys!
I'm nearing the end of a prototype but are in need of some speed analysis.
I need to measure the speed from a switch and a digital signal input on a computer.

Having no clue about that area, I'm only thinking, but is it possible to measure the timing via the following
https://www.adafruit.com/product/2312

I'm thinking the digital on the data channel on the usb port and the analog on the switch, then compare the timing in the software?

Thanks in advance!

Sendt fra min SM-G930F med Tapatalk

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Signal speed analysis
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2019, 02:10:57 pm »
It all depends the precision you need.  Is it in the order of milliseconds or nanoseconds? The saleae logic analyzer has an internal clock and it will not show the exact timing, sample rate is only 12 MS/s @ 8 Bits digital and 6MS/s on analog.  I think you should get an oscilloscope.  What is tricky is triggering the USB bus right when your timing must start, the old Agilent 54622D has USB triggering and it has 2 analog + 16 digital channels.  The Zeroplus LAP-C can also trigger on USB 2.0 but you have the same limitation, depending on the model it has 100MHz or 200MHz samples per second, that limits the precision to 10ns - 5ns (theoretical).

Please post a diagram of the circuit you need to measure
« Last Edit: April 02, 2019, 02:13:56 pm by TK »

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2019, 02:14:35 pm »
I would be happy with 1/10 ms precision, but my main problem when thinking about oscilloscopes is that my proto connects via Usb3.
I don't need full data analysis, just the time from analog to usb basically. I'm cringing by the thought of a $50,000 oscilloscope

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2019, 02:38:16 pm »