Author Topic: Standardising on a single microcontroller or family  (Read 2151 times)

Offline JosebeeblebroxTopic starter

• I'm just this guy...
Standardising on a single microcontroller or family
« on: September 26, 2020, 11:38:35 pm »
Hi All! I am an old school Electrical Engineer in Aviation & Telecommunications who defected to IT 20+ years ago ($$$$...) and now has limited time to dedicate to my microcontroller hobby.
I want to maximise my learning efficiency and decided (after a couple of years of catching up with Arduinos and the like) to REALLY learn one powerful family of MCUs and associated tools that I can then use to have fun, change the world, help humanity and all those great things!  :)
The collective in this topic represents a huge repository of knowledge and experience; I am am really looking forward to your comments and guidance.
ESP32? SMT32? 8085?  :D (just kidding, that's how I started back in the early 80's)
Jose

Offline dmendesf

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Standardising on a single microcontroller or family
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2020, 01:39:30 am »
If you want IOT stuff go for ESP32 (embedded wifi +bt, lots of communication libraries ready). If you want to do signal processing stuff go to STM32 (3 to 5 simultaneous sampling MSPS ADCs). That's my 2c advice.

The following users thanked this post: Josebeeblebrox

Offline jnz

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2020, 01:49:50 am »
If you want IOT stuff go for ESP32 (embedded wifi +bt, lots of communication libraries ready). If you want to do signal processing stuff go to STM32 (3 to 5 simultaneous sampling MSPS ADCs). That's my 2c advice.

For practical reasons this is fair. If I was a hobbyist, it would ESP32 and STM forever.

But... commonality is way oversold. Even in STM32 world, the F1 to H7 aren't really all that similar. And the hal still sucks so far as I know.

Offline JosebeeblebroxTopic starter

• I'm just this guy...