Author Topic: STM32 SPI Code Advice  (Read 2146 times)

Offline 1310_nanometersTopic starter

STM32 SPI Code Advice
« on: December 27, 2021, 06:15:16 pm »
I apologize in advance but this might be a bit of a long post. I'm new to embedded software development, but not the realm of software development itself. I believe I might be encoutering an issue with Endianness but I'm hoping someone more experienced with embedded systems and C could provide some guidance on how to verify my concerns.

I have an idea on how to resolve the issue already, but the project so far has been very ardious. I'm working with a STM32WB55 Nucleo Board and a MAX35103 Time of Flight Eval Kit. According to the MAX35103's Datasheet (Link Here refer to Table 20 on page 51) chip if I send opcode 0xC2 I can read Calibration and Control register.

If I send Opcode 0x42 followed by 16 bytes of data MSB first (this is explained on page 27 and 28) I can write the register.

So I wrote some code to perform these simple tests using STM's HAL here. I had some grounding issues that caused CS pin spikes. In my troubleshooting I thought it was possibly related to the slewing of the pin, which is why there's a 750 delay between the writes. In the end it was a bad ground wire:

Code: [Select]
  uint8_t opCode = 0xC2;
  uint8_t txBuf[] = { opCode };
  uint8_t rxBuf[2] = {0};
  //uint16_t buf = 0x00;

HAL_GPIO_WritePin(SPI1_CS_GPIO_Port, SPI1_CS_Pin, GPIO_PIN_RESET);
  HAL_SPI_Transmit(&hspi1, txBuf, sizeof(txBuf), HAL_MAX_DELAY);
  HAL_SPI_Receive(&hspi1, rxBuf, 2, HAL_MAX_DELAY);
  HAL_GPIO_WritePin(SPI1_CS_GPIO_Port, SPI1_CS_Pin, GPIO_PIN_SET);

HAL_Delay(750);

opCode = 0x42;
  uint8_t txBuf2[] = { opCode, 0xAB, 0x01 };
  HAL_SPI_Transmit(&hspi1, txBuf2, sizeof(txBuf2), HAL_MAX_DELAY);

HAL_Delay(750);

rxBuf[0] = 0x0;
  rxBuf[1] = 0x0;

HAL_SPI_Transmit(&hspi1, txBuf, sizeof(txBuf), HAL_MAX_DELAY);
  HAL_SPI_Receive(&hspi1, rxBuf, 2, HAL_MAX_DELAY);

The SPI write goes perfectly