Author Topic: STM32: waveform generation for beginners?  (Read 4554 times)

Offline WatthTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
STM32: waveform generation for beginners?
« on: January 12, 2022, 03:31:33 pm »
Hey everybody,
After playing with Arduino, I'm new to STM32, as a hobby. I'm starting with a Nucleo-L412KB and STM32CubeIDE, with witch I could blink an LED (yay!) make it throb with PWM (woohoo!) and command a LED driver with SPI.
So far so good.
I'd like to generate waveforms to drive a loudspeaker. In practices: beeps of different pitch and shapes for alarms and as an auditory confirmation for the user interface.
ST provides an application note on the subject but doesn't goes into details about practical issues.
Also, I'm still a bit lost with ST's IDE's software packages and embedded software, is there anything (library?) in there that would make things easier for such a function?
Thanks for reading this message.

Because "Matth" was already taken.

Offline MarkF

• Super Contributor
Re: STM32: waveform generation for beginners?
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2022, 04:07:24 pm »
Here is an introduction to DDS in a PIC32 microcontroller.  You should be able to adapt it for your MCU.

Plus this:
https://people.ece.cornell.edu/land/courses/ece4760/labs/f2021/lab1birdsong/Birdsong_keypad.html
« Last Edit: January 12, 2022, 04:13:59 pm by MarkF »

The following users thanked this post: Watth

Offline wek

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2022, 08:51:04 am »
If you want to stick to Cube, there are examples e.g. https://github.com/STMicroelectronics/STM32CubeL4/tree/master/Projects/STM32L476G-EVAL/Examples/DAC/DAC_SignalsGeneration . This is not CubeMX/CubeIDE-ready and needs to be modified for your particular mcu, but the principle should be the same.

Skeleton for something similar should be clickable in CubeMX and then fleshed out, but I don't know, I don't use Cubes.