Author Topic: STM32F103 any good?  (Read 57876 times)

Offline MuxrTopic starter

• Super Contributor
STM32F103 any good?
« on: April 22, 2015, 04:17:09 am »
I've done some AVR development in the past. My background is software engineering so I don't mind learning a new language or environment.

But basically I've been shopping around for an MCU to migrate to after using 8Bit AVRs. I was mainly looking for cheap MCUs in case I decide I want to mass produce one of my projects, so the price is really important.

I was shocked with how cheap these (STM32) F103s are. For instance one of my projects is a clock and I have a need for an RTC module but this STM32 comes with a built in RTC. It's actually kind of mind boggling how much more advanced and how many more features F103 packs for the same price as an AVR Atmega328.

I mean you get: 75Mhz, 32Bit arch, 64Kb Flash, 20Kb SRAM, 2x12Bit ADC, bunch of interfaces, USB2.0, 7-channel DMA

I ordered a few of these $4 boards to play with: http://www.ebay.com/itm/311156408508?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

There is an open source Arduino toolchain: https://github.com/rogerclarkmelbourne/Arduino_STM32  It's pretty experimental though.

So I guess the question I have is, what's the catch? Anyone have experience with STM32 Cortex M3 F10x controllers, are they any good? And where should I begin in terms of software tools to program these guys? (preferably OS X / Linux toolchains).

Offline HackedFridgeMagnet

• Super Contributor
Re: STM32F103 any good?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2015, 04:40:22 am »
It's a great step forward to get out of the Arduino ide.
I use eclipse with the cdt plugin and gcc and openocd(i think that is its name) for the debugger.

There is a fair bit of effort to set it up if you haven't done it before.
But there is plenty of support around and you wont look back.