Author Topic: STM32F4 / arm-none-eabi-gcc not linking to math  (Read 23367 times)

Offline TorrentulaTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • My blog
STM32F4 / arm-none-eabi-gcc not linking to math
« on: July 19, 2012, 11:11:22 am »
Hello guys!

I started playing around with the STM32F4 Discovery. I'm using the CodeSourcery arm-none-eabi toolchain.

The problem I have is when I try to use the atan2() function from math.h, the I get the error "undefined reference to atan2". It seems that the linker is not linking the executable to the math.a file and I don't know why.

I tried adding -lm -lc to the compiler flags but that doesn't seem to work, the error remains.
Trying to compile it with the Linaro arm-non-eabi toolchain gives me the same error + 'undefined reference to _exit'.

I hope someone's able to help!

Here is my Makefile:

Code: [Select]
TARGET=main.hex
EXECUTABLE=main.elf

CC=arm-none-eabi-gcc
LD=arm-none-eabi-ld
#LD=arm-none-eabi-gcc
AR=arm-none-eabi-ar
AS=arm-none-eabi-as
CP=arm-none-eabi-objcopy
OD=arm-none-eabi-objdump

BIN=$(CP) -O ihex

DEFS = -DUSE_STDPERIPH_DRIVER -DSTM32F4XX -DMANGUSTA_DISCOVERY -DUSE_USB_OTG_FS -DHSE_VALUE=8000000

MCU = cortex-m4
MCFLAGS = -mcpu=$(MCU) -mthumb -mlittle-endian -mfpu=fpv4-sp-d16 -mfloat-abi=soft -mthumb-interwork -std=c99 -lm -lc
STM32_INCLUDES = -I../../Utilities/STM32F4-Discovery \
-I../../Libraries/CMSIS/ST/STM32F4xx/Include/ \
-I../../Libraries/CMSIS/Include/ \
-I../../Libraries/STM32F4xx_StdPeriph_Driver/inc/ \
-I../../Libraries/STM32_USB_Device_Library/Class/hid/inc \
-I../../Libraries/STM32_USB_Device_Library/Core/inc/ \
-I../../Libraries/STM32_USB_OTG_Driver/inc/

OPTIMIZE       = -Os

CFLAGS = $(MCFLAGS)  $(OPTIMIZE)  $(DEFS) -I./ -I./ $(STM32_INCLUDES)  -Wl,-T,stm32_flash.ld
AFLAGS = $(MCFLAGS)
#-mapcs-float use float regs. small increase in code size

STM32_USB_OTG_SRC = ../../Libraries/STM32_USB_OTG_Driver/src/usb_dcd_int.c \
../../Libraries/STM32_USB_OTG_Driver/src/usb_core.c \