Author Topic: Using printf with msp432e401y microcontroller  (Read 1990 times)

Offline Thomas83Topic starter

• Contributor
Using printf with msp432e401y microcontroller
« on: May 23, 2022, 09:28:41 am »
Hello everyone!

I just started working with the MSP432E401Y launchpad. My goal for  is to send some data to a terminal via UART0.
I am having trouble with the PRINTF Function, any data do not send to the terminal. It would be really difficult to implement what I need without these printf function.

Any help or an example would be greatly appreciated!

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: Using printf with msp432e401y microcontroller
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2022, 09:34:35 am »
You'll likely need to write your own putchar() and puts() functions to send data to the serial port.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2022, 03:05:59 pm »
Hello everyone!

I just started working with the MSP432E401Y launchpad. My goal for  is to send some data to a terminal via UART0.
I am having trouble with the PRINTF Function, any data do not send to the terminal. It would be really difficult to implement what I need without these printf function.

Any help or an example would be greatly appreciated!

All of the examples TI provides with CCS for this part use a function UARTprintf() which is defined/declared in the files uartstdio.c/.h.

The following users thanked this post: Thomas83

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2022, 04:58:02 pm »
You'll likely need to write your own putchar() and puts() functions to send data to the serial port.

Yes. I suspect TI already has working examples for this.