Author Topic: Why is nobody implementing ARM Cortex MCU's in their projects?  (Read 16630 times)

Offline DijitalTopic starter

• Contributor
Why is nobody implementing ARM Cortex MCU's in their projects?
« on: January 11, 2017, 02:02:50 am »
~~~~Edit: I am talking mostly about the Cortex Ax series. The crazy 400 ball BGA chips. I don't really know much in this area so sorry if I wasn't clear about that or botched my nomenclature.~~~~

I should start by stating that I have very little knowledge in this area. I have done lots of work with 8 bit micros, but never anything beyond that. What I really love about them though is the ability to slap them on my own designs. It seems like with bigger micros though, this isnt the case. Everyone seems to use an auxiliary Cortex dev board.

Digging around online  it seems that nobody is spinning their own boards using these SoCs, yet all the components are readily available off the shelf. What is it that is preventing people from using these SoCs in their own projects, outside of the need for a custom multilayer PCB (or is that the biggest barrier?). I have seen a bazillion projects with a raspberry pi or other arm board slapped on, but I can't find any where someone did their own implementation. I can't even find info to help those who would want to do their own implementation.

Raspberry pi even offers a compute module that seems like a dead simple implementation, yet it seems no one has attempted to make their own compute module with any other cortex based SoC. Whats going on? Is the software end incredibly complex? Are the chips available from digikey crippled without paying some license fee?

I feel like with the advent of high powered SoCs there would be an explosion of people building their own mini computers, whatever the cost, just for the fun of it. Instead there seems to just be this giant void outside commercial products.