Author Topic: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750  (Read 1976 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ali_asadzadeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1239
  • Country: ca
why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« on: July 22, 2020, 08:02:45 am »
Hi,
I have this probe for so long, and it had supported everything that I have connected! this is the first CM7 part, that I'm connecting to, it's a STM32H750VB,

Do you have any Idea what might be wrong?
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6819
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2020, 08:31:03 am »
Please crop your image only to the actual error message.

Your hardware is too old and does not support Cortex-M7: https://wiki.segger.com/Software_and_Hardware_Features_Overview
Alex
 
The following users thanked this post: ali_asadzadeh

Offline ali_asadzadeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1239
  • Country: ca
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2020, 09:40:01 am »
Thanks, It seems I should switch to DAP or J-link V9 :'(
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6819
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2020, 04:01:53 pm »
Yes, I really don't understand why debugger needs to know about the core. I'm not sure why they would do that other than extracting the money.
Alex
 

Offline 0xdeadbeef

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1519
  • Country: de
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2020, 04:09:48 pm »
Problem is that 99% of V8 probes aren't old but Chinese fakes. Segger puts a lot of effort into the tools, so it's worth buying a legit probe (IMHO Ozone alone is worth it). Actually I bought a new EDU (V10) some months ago since my old legit EDU V8 was no longer supported.
Trying is the first step towards failure - Homer J. Simpson
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6819
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2020, 04:26:43 pm »
It is not the problem in this case. In this case the official version does not support the device either.
Alex
 

Offline 0xdeadbeef

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1519
  • Country: de
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2020, 05:46:44 pm »
It's exactly the problem. Supporting a HW version where 99% of the devices are Chineses clones just doesn't make any sense for Segger - so they burned that bridge. The only legit V8 users without any upgrade discount are EDU users like me. But it's sold for ~50€ (without VAT) which is not really worth complaining. Besides, V10.1 has new features and is faster, so there are additional benefits by the newer hardware.
Trying is the first step towards failure - Homer J. Simpson
 

Offline abyrvalg

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 471
  • Country: ru
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2020, 09:50:38 pm »
That Segger’s strategy is a bit "double-edged" - how long it will take that new genuine V10.1 to become obsolete? Knowing that it is "because of chinese clones" doesn’t help a legal buyer much.
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6819
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2020, 09:54:44 pm »
I don't see why debugger needs to be locked to the target. May be they have a good reason and they do some target-specific processing on the debugger, but it kind of feels like a lock-in attempt.

Similar to how SAM-ICE was just a J-Link, but locked to Atmel devices. It would actually read the device ID and refuse to work with non-Atmel devices.

Given availability and cheapness of CMSIS-DAP debuggers, the only real reason to use J-Link is their standalone tools. And may be if you really need advanced features like trace.
Alex
 

Offline 0xdeadbeef

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1519
  • Country: de
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #9 on: July 23, 2020, 05:54:58 am »
Note that the whole V8 discussion is only about the base line models (EDU, Base, Plus). Better models like Ultra and Trace have different HW revisions and no clones. Besides, all versions but EDU can be upgraded to the newest revision for 50% of the normal asking price: https://www.segger.com/purchase/trade-in-program/
Regarding comparison with "CMSIS-DAP": I actually moved from Segger EDU to LPC Link 2 fro a while because this was the solution working best in LPCXpresso/MCUXpresso. But the Segger integration evolved quite a bit since then and since Ozone became available, I just use MCUXpresso to compile anyway and then reprogram and debug in Ozone. Also RTT is a great help for development.
These tools were my main reason to buy the new EDU version even though the old one and even the LPC Link 2 with the J-Link firmware worked good enough. The data transfer is much faster with the new HW revision which enhances all features based on runtime memory access etc.
Trying is the first step towards failure - Homer J. Simpson
 

Offline abyrvalg

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 471
  • Country: ru
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2020, 06:31:35 am »
Better models like Ultra and Trace have different HW revisions and no clones.
Search “JetLink Ultra V4”
 
The following users thanked this post: thm_w, 2N3055

Offline ali_asadzadeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1239
  • Country: ca
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #11 on: July 23, 2020, 06:48:56 am »
It's all about money,Segger has fucked us |O

I have found V9 clones in here too, >:D But I hate to switch to it and be fucked a gain by segger, I wonder if it could be done with FT2232 too, since I would use this baby for Xilinx and Gowin already.
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6819
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2020, 06:51:36 am »
You can't make FT2232 work with Segger software.

BTW, I think they had some trade in program, so you may be able to trade in your old device to get some discount on the new one. That is of course if you feel like giving more money to them.
Alex
 

Online blueskull

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 14094
  • Country: cn
  • Power Electronics Guy
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #13 on: July 23, 2020, 07:05:47 am »
That Segger’s strategy is a bit "double-edged" - how long it will take that new genuine V10.1 to become obsolete? Knowing that it is "because of chinese clones" doesn’t help a legal buyer much.

JLink 10 clones are already here everywhere, and if you dig deeper on the internet, you can find V10 firmware to make your own.

So yes, it is a stupid idea, and it serves nothing but to burn their own customer base.
 

Offline ali_asadzadeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1239
  • Country: ca
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #14 on: July 23, 2020, 07:09:35 am »
Quote
JLink 10 clones are already here everywhere, and if you dig deeper on the internet, you can find V10 firmware to make your own.
Links would be highly appreciated  >:D you can PM me if you like


Quote
You can't make FT2232 work with Segger software
I wanted it to work with Keil, is there a solution?

Also I have found J-Link OB-STM32F072 firmware in Github
https://github.com/JassyL/JLink_ARM_OB/blob/master/J-Link%20OB-STM32F072-CortexM___firmware_2020/J-Link%20OB-STM32F072-CortexM___firmware_2020.bin
Since I have a easypaduk, maybe that could help too, or maybe a new hardware that act as DAP and J-link OB ^-^
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits
 

Online blueskull

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 14094
  • Country: cn
  • Power Electronics Guy
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #15 on: July 23, 2020, 07:18:30 am »
Quote
JLink 10 clones are already here everywhere, and if you dig deeper on the internet, you can find V10 firmware to make your own.
Links would be highly appreciated  >:D you can PM me if you like

I don't have a link to the FW, but you can search on some Chinese embedded forums.

As for products, they are everywhere on Taobao.
 

Offline ali_asadzadeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1239
  • Country: ca
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #16 on: July 23, 2020, 07:43:17 am »
Quote
I don't have a link to the FW, but you can search on some Chinese embedded forums.
Thanks, Please name a few forums then ^-^ >:D
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits
 

Offline hans

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1094
  • Country: nl
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #17 on: July 23, 2020, 08:19:40 am »
Google for document "RM08001-R2" to see an ancient Jlink USB spec. There really isn't much device-specific going on for Cortex-Mx targets.. :palm:

I was surprised by that wiki article saying that the J-Link EDU v8 does not support Cortex-m4 devices. I use an old J-Link EDU from 2011 with STM32L4 and STM32F4 parts with OpenOCD, which works fine, so perhaps the feature set is limited for J-Link own executables.

@ali_asadzadeh: Just google for 5 secs. I've been able to find a J-Link v10 .bin file from 2019 for the LPC4337 on the first google page. Not sure how much that's worth though (and if it even works), because the LPC4337 is almost 13 euro's on Mouser. For that money and hassle, I would probably get a J-Link EDU Mini (https://www.segger.com/products/debug-probes/j-link/models/j-link-edu-mini/).  It includes the core feature set a clone buyer is probably most interested in (programming and debugging). If you need ancient ARM support (e.g. LPC2100 series), fancy trace features, or faster download speeds (200k/s vs 1MB/s to RAM) then buy their expensive debug pods..

J-Link debuggers are buried into more dev-boards like the ones from Silicon Labs, usually on some kind of STM32 hidden under the LCD screen. So I suppose Segger figured out that their business model shouldn't resolve around chasing after chinese clones 24/7, but licensing to OEM's (such as Atmel like @ataradov mentioned) is far more sustainable and profitable.


« Last Edit: July 23, 2020, 08:26:30 am by hans »
 

Offline abyrvalg

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 471
  • Country: ru
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #18 on: July 23, 2020, 08:31:29 am »
Keil claims CMSIS-DAP support, so you can go as simple as an $2 Aliexpress ST-Link converted to CMSIS-DAP using this info: http://akb77.com/g/stm32/cmsis-dap/
 
The following users thanked this post: thm_w

Offline ali_asadzadeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1239
  • Country: ca
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #19 on: July 23, 2020, 09:32:10 am »
Thanks for sharing,
Quote
Just google for 5 secs. I've been able to find a J-Link v10 .bin file from 2019
hans my google is not smart as yours, would you please share the link ^-^

My google found this link
http://www.azlina.ru/programmatoryi/j-link-v-10-programmator-jtag-otladchik-dlya-arm-i-cortex-mikrokontrollerov

Do we have a schematic too?
« Last Edit: July 23, 2020, 09:34:34 am by ali_asadzadeh »
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits
 

Offline 0xdeadbeef

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1519
  • Country: de
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #20 on: July 23, 2020, 10:47:10 am »
AFAIK none of the clones >8 is really a proper clone like the V8 clones were (i.e. recognized by the Segger SW as legit). Lots of "V9" versions were just V8 with all the potential issues of blacklisted serial numbers or with some hacks like dual firmware to recover to an old version if bricked. V10 clones seem to need a hacked firmware. So you can't actually just use the newest firmware automatically etc.
I just don't get why anybody would invest more than 10€ or so in a clone that will be potentially bricked, blacklisted or get stuck with old firmware if you can buy a legit EDU for 50€ (even though the nag screen is not so easily disabled anymore with latest drivers from 2020, there's still an easy 99% solution).
Trying is the first step towards failure - Homer J. Simpson
 
The following users thanked this post: hans

Offline janoc

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3235
  • Country: fr
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #21 on: July 23, 2020, 10:56:46 am »
I don't see why debugger needs to be locked to the target. May be they have a good reason and they do some target-specific processing on the debugger, but it kind of feels like a lock-in attempt.

Isn't the same thing as what Microchip is doing with the Pickit, or the BlackMagicProbe does? They are all handling the JTAG/SWD in the actual firmware of the probe, along with some extra stuff like tracing, serial ports and what not. So when you change target to something the firmware doesn't support you need to reflash the probe too.

It is not necessarily due to attempt at a vendor lock-in but a design choice as these probes tend to be faster than when the processing is done at the host and the probe only twiddles the SWD lines.

 

Offline ali_asadzadeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1239
  • Country: ca
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #22 on: July 23, 2020, 12:09:01 pm »
I made progress, I just flashed my eayPaduk with the j-link-OB STM32F072, and It act like a j-link, I have successfully program and debug a STM32F030kT6 part,

The new OB probe modified so, I can connect it to STM32H750VB

Now when I connect this probe to my STM32H750VB, the OB will detect the Core and tries to flash the chip, But It will through some error like this,


Quote
Load "C:\\Users\\ASiDesigner\\Desktop\\stm32h750\\Objects\\STM32H750.axf"
* JLink Info: Device "STM32H750VB" selected.
Set JLink Project File to "C:\Users\ASiDesigner\Desktop\stm32h750\JLinkSettings.ini"
* JLink Info: Device "STM32H750VB" selected.
 
JLink info:
------------
DLL: V6.70e, compiled Apr 17 2020 17:55:05
Firmware: J-Link OB-STM32F072-CortexM compiled Mar  8 2020 11:15:54
Hardware: V1.00
Feature(s) : GDB, RDI, FlashBP, FlashDL, JFlash, RDDI
 
* JLink Info: Found SW-DP with ID 0x6BA02477
* JLink Info: Found SW-DP with ID 0x6BA02477
* JLink Info: Unknown DP version. Assuming DPv0
* JLink Info: Scanning AP map to find all available APs
* JLink Info: AP[3]: Stopped AP scan as end of AP map has been reached
* JLink Info: AP[0]: AHB-AP (IDR: 0x84770001)
* JLink Info: AP[1]: AHB-AP (IDR: 0x84770001)
* JLink Info: AP[2]: APB-AP (IDR: 0x54770002)
* JLink Info: Iterating through AP map to find AHB-AP to use
* JLink Info: AP[0]: Core found
* JLink Info: AP[0]: AHB-AP ROM base: 0xE00FE000
* JLink Info: CPUID register: 0x411FC271. Implementer code: 0x41 (ARM)
* JLink Info: Found Cortex-M7 r1p1, Little endian.
* JLink Info: FPUnit: 0 code (BP) slots and 0 literal slots
* JLink Info: CoreSight components:
* JLink Info: ROMTbl[0] @ E00FE000
* JLink Info: ROMTbl[0][1]: E00FF000, CID: 05100D00, PID: 0BB4C700 ???
* JLink Info: ROMTbl[0][2]: E0041000, CID: 05900D00, PID: 1BB97505 ???
* JLink Info: ROMTbl[0][3]: E0043000, CID: 05900D00, PID: 4BB90605 ???
* JLink Info: Cache: No cache
ROMTableAddr = 0xE00FE000
* JLink Info: Reset: Halt core after reset via DEMCR.VC_CORERESET.
* JLink Info: Reset: Reset device via AIRCR.SYSRESETREQ.
* JLink Info: Reset: SYSRESETREQ has confused core.
* JLink Info: Found SW-DP with ID 0x6BA02477
* JLink Info: Unknown DP version. Assuming DPv0
* JLink Info: AP map detection skipped. Manually configured AP map found.
* JLink Info: AP[0]: AHB-AP (IDR: Not set)
* JLink Info: AP[0]: Core found
* JLink Info: AP[0]: AHB-AP ROM base: 0xE00FE000
* JLink Info: CPUID register: 0x411FC271. Implementer code: 0x41 (ARM)
* JLink Info: Found Cortex-M7 r1p1, Little endian.
* JLink Info: Reset: Using fallback: VECTRESET.
* JLink Info: Reset: Halt core after reset via DEMCR.VC_CORERESET.
* JLink Info: Reset: Reset device via AIRCR.VECTRESET.
* JLink Info: Reset: VECTRESET has confused core.
* JLink Info: Reset: Using fallback: Reset pin.
* JLink Info: Reset: Halt core after reset via DEMCR.VC_CORERESET.
* JLink Info: Reset: Reset device via reset pin
* JLink Info: Reset: VC_CORERESET did not halt CPU. (Debug logic also reset by reset pin?).
* JLink Info: Reset: Reconnecting and manually halting CPU.
* JLink Info: Found SW-DP with ID 0x6BA02477
* JLink Info: Unknown DP version. Assuming DPv0
* JLink Info: AP map detection skipped. Manually configured AP map found.
* JLink Info: AP[0]: AHB-AP (IDR: Not set)
* JLink Info: AP[0]: Core found
* JLink Info: AP[0]: AHB-AP ROM base: 0xE00FE000
* JLink Info: CPUID register: 0x411FC271. Implementer code: 0x41 (ARM)
* JLink Info: Found Cortex-M7 r1p1, Little endian.
**JLink Warning: T-bit of XPSR is 0 but should be 1. Changed to 1.
 
Target info:
------------
Device: STM32H750VBTx
VTarget = 3.300V
State of Pins:
TCK: 0, TDI: 0, TDO: 1, TMS: 1, TRES: 1, TRST: 1
Hardware-Breakpoints: 0
Software-Breakpoints: 8192
Watchpoints:          15
JTAG speed: 2000 kHz
 
**JLink Warning: T-bit of XPSR is 0 but should be 1. Changed to 1.
Erase Failed!
Error: Flash Download failed  -  "Cortex-M7"
Flash Load finished at 16:32:35

Here my Schematic for STM32H750VB


The wired thing is that the j-link software would have wrong RAM setting in device selection, the parts should have 1MB of ram


any New Ideas?
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits
 

Online blueskull

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 14094
  • Country: cn
  • Power Electronics Guy
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #23 on: July 23, 2020, 12:18:34 pm »
I just don't get why anybody would invest more than 10€ or so in a clone that will be potentially bricked, blacklisted or get stuck with old firmware if you can buy a legit EDU for 50€ (even though the nag screen is not so easily disabled anymore with latest drivers from 2020, there's still an easy 99% solution).

Despite the flag, the OP lives in Iran, which means whatever he gets must be from China. In China everyone uses the clone, and only few big companies use the real deal to mitigate legal risks, so few that only authorized dealers sell them, and those few sellers also have to follow US' export regulation.
 

Offline ehughes

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 402
  • Country: us
Re: why my j-link V8 does not support STM32H750
« Reply #24 on: July 23, 2020, 01:09:25 pm »
Quote
It's all about money,Segger has fucked u


News Flash.    Businesses operate on money.      Segger can't build good tools when everyone is using clones and fakes.      I have seen lots of companies making debug tools come and over over the past 20 years.    They only ones that survive charge money for their product.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2020, 01:36:10 pm by ehughes »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf