Author Topic: STM32 Circuit Help  (Read 7617 times)

Offline itsrealfastTopic starter

• Contributor
STM32 Circuit Help
« on: February 29, 2016, 02:00:50 pm »
Hi I am new to the using STM32 microcontrollers and wanted some help regarding the minimal requirements. The processor part number is STM32F302R8T6.

Attached is a schematic I did after lots of reading and viewing other examples. Device is USB powered I would appreciate some feedback to see if I am on the right track.

Thanks

Offline DroneBuster

• Contributor
    • razgunas.lt
Re: STM32 Circuit Help
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2016, 08:31:17 am »
I don't know if you are planning to use UART bootloader, but if you are add jumper to 3.3V from BOOT0.
Power circuit example is in DATASHEET page 54. It's only missing 4.7uF capacitor
1uF capacitor should be on VDDA. On VBAT you can add 0.1uF
I usually pull up NRST pin but it got internal pull up

Offline dgtl

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2016, 09:14:18 pm »
1) SWO is usually not needed (unless your debug adapter supports real-time trace and you need it). If you need the pin for other purposes, take it away.
2) ARM has a standard pinout for SWD (new .05inch and old .1inch headers). Avoid re-inventing the wheel. Sadly, the st-link debugger does not come with the new connector cable, so make your own or source it elsewhere.
3) You might want to make the usb pull-up resistor switchable. When releasing this resistor, the host detects disconnection. This might be needed if you can not answer as soon as the power is plugged in and the host starts to enumerate the device. If you make your own bootloader, you may need to disconnect when switching between bootloader and app etc. When adding a BOOT0 jumper, add a jumper to bridge this transistor, too (internal bootloader needs this resistor).