Author Topic: Basic Questions About NAS  (Read 3911 times)

Offline EPAIIITopic starter

• Super Contributor
Basic Questions About NAS
« on: June 17, 2023, 09:22:30 am »
I am starting the process of purchasing a NAS system for my home network. As my home only has myself and my son, who has little interest in activities that use storage, this system will be primarily be used by myself for things like mechanical and electronic design (2D and 3D CAD), PCB creation, 3D printing, family photo storage, and video production. One of my greatest concerns is protecting the files from loss so redundancy is a must. And I do not wish to use cloud storage. I will be using two or even three different computers as well as an Android cell phone on this network (which includes Wifi). I hope that is a good description of the usage this NAS will be called on to support.

I am not a computer professional. So I must ask some basic questions that no one seems to discuss when describing these systems. I am thinking of using three drives in a RAID 1 configuration. That way, all of the data will be on each of the disks. If one goes bad, I still have redundancy (disks two and three) while ordering and installing a replacement drive. The first thing I want to know is can I (hot or not) swap a fourth drive into this RAID 1 and have it automatically become a fourth image of the other three? This assumes a four bay system or at least three. Then I could keep that fourth drive in a safe place, like a bank box, as an off site back-up, swapping it with one of the other three once a week or so. And if so, would this be a universal feature of any NAS? Or is it a question I should ask before buying?