Author Topic: Question router repeater wifi  (Read 4690 times)

Offline tiago1986Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • !
Question router repeater wifi
« on: June 14, 2021, 09:21:02 pm »
is it possible to buy a good router or wifi repeater on Aliexpress for a low price? I currently have a second TP-LINK TW-WR541G router outside my room to distribute wifi throughout the rest of the house but my father has a samsung galaxy A10 smartphone and is always complaining that the wifi is slow so I wanted to spend as little as possible to improve it

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
Re: Question router repeater wifi
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2021, 09:43:28 pm »
I have no experience with the routers you can buy on Aliexpress. I did face a similar problem with my mother's house though it's an old single floor house that has been added onto several times over the years so there are lots of walls and no good place to locate a router that was close to everything. I ended up installing a couple of used Aruba "Instant" access points, older enterprise grade hardware that didn't cost very much, it's been working great. There are also consumer wireless mesh systems you can get.

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2021, 10:36:46 pm »
is it possible to buy a good router or wifi repeater on Aliexpress for a low price?

I would say no to both.  Consumer routers are junk, and Wifi repeaters are a flawed concept.

Offline tiago1986Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • !
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2021, 10:40:14 pm »
what buy?

Offline PKTKS

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2021, 12:23:57 pm »
what buy?

2 answers:

- CHEAP SOLUTION:  A bunch of CAT5e cable and any cheap AP
from tp-link to dlink to tenda to wtf fit budget...

- NON CHEAP SOLUTION:  a serious powerful radio AP capable
of doing at least 3 or 4 walls of concrete.. with some rebar...

expect a big device like outdoor units from tenda ubiquiti mikrotik