Author Topic: Advice on a custom USB device  (Read 9569 times)

Offline xylo04Topic starter

• Contributor
Advice on a custom USB device
« on: March 18, 2021, 11:04:17 am »
Hi folks! I'm a software engineer by day and a radio amateur, but I dabble in electronics. I'm working on a OSHW project right now which is basically meant to cram several USB devices into one.

The project is published at https://github.com/k0swe/tx500-data-interface.

To interface a ham radio with a computer for digital modes, you generally need two things:
  • a serial UART for controlling frequency, mode, transmit/receive, etc, and
  • a duplex audio signal for received and transmitted digital data (very similar to a modem).
Right now I accomplish this with an FTDI cable and a cheap USB sound card plugged into a hub. I want to make a rugged device that has a USB hub controller, UART and audio chip integrated on one PCB. The closest consumer device to compare this to is the Yaesu SCU-17.

I have a design started in KiCad, but this is only my second custom PCB, and it's the first design I've done with ICs and USB buses. I'm eager to get advice on anything that can be improved, but I have a couple of specific concerns:
  • Are my uses of power regulation, decoupling caps, signal filtering, etc appropriate? I followed the application notes for my hub controller and UART, but I'm not an EE and don't actually know what I'm doing.
  • The audio chip I'm using, the Cmedia HS-100, doesn't have application notes in its datasheet. I currently have minimal supporting circuitry around it. Do I need to add anything obvious? There's some debate in the amateur radio community in general about adding transformers to audio lines like this.